Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I grew up on this in Wisconsin, we bought it from the store and it was a favorite Christmas treat. When we moved to Oklahoma when I was a teenager, no one had heard of it and it was not commercially available in any of the stores. I was so glad I still had the recipe from my junior high Holiday Foods class, it is the same as this recipe. It makes a great gift for our local friends since it is such a novelty here, everyone seems to fall in love with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I just made this for the third time:( The first time cooked to 300 on the candy thermometer and it was a mess and filled up my 10x13 pan up the sides and was so hard to try and break apart. I think I might have had temp a little too high, they said it tasted like burnt marshmallows. The second time I tried cooking just under 300 and poured it onto a large pizza pan and was too sticky and not airy. I tried breaking in and put in a ziplock and it all stuck together. This third and final time I cooked to exactly 310 (slowly) I used the 10x13 pan again and it filled it up 3/4 the way up the sides...it looks glossy on the top but is full of holes and pockets when broken apart. It did not break easily either, it splintered apart and flaked instead of being in nice pieces for the most part, got some nicer ones. It was good for having the ingredients on hand but feel like I wasted them. I give up on this one. The picture made me want to try it and it sounded fool-proof. Guess not for me anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
really good, wish it would keep better, made it as Christmas gifts & it was sweating by 3rd day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I don't see what he big deal is about this candy. The candy itself just tasted like sugar. The only thing that gave it any flavor was the chocolate. Might as well cover bread with the chocolate and eat that, it would taste the same. The candy crumbled into dust when I tried to break it. I put the candy in a zip loc bag to break it up. It ended up with sharp shards, almost like broken glass, and a bunch of crumbs in the bag. Looked nothing like the nice squared of candy in the pics. I guess the people giving this big ratings are being influenced by childhood memories, based on the comments they make in their reviews because I see nothing special about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is just like sponge candy, If you safe the crumb's you cam use them for ontop of your favorite ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Knop Babski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I will never buy angel food candy again. This was fairly easy, providing the candy thermometer is accurate, and better tasting than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wonderful, perfect recipe. BETTER than the old fashioned stuff, as I always did not like the chocolate coating on the old stuff. I just melt milk chocolate chips instead and it is a dream come true. This is my mother's favorite candy and she loves that I can now make it for her homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Need help, mine came out to hard the first time so I went down to about 275F, then it was too soft. I also found that I had huge bubbles; should I stir more? Taste great! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this today, as a fourth attempt, and third recipe. It actually turned out decently! I combined a few tips: I made sure to cook the sugar to above 300 degrees, removed it from the heat immediately and used sifted b.powder. I also followed Lisa K's suggestion to put the mixture in the oven to set. I used a silicone cake pan as well. My pizza cutter came in handy to score the candy, and it broke right along the lines. I stored it in a freezer bag (keep moisture out) until I can coat it on Sunday. I would like to figure out though, how to get the bubbles to be all teeny-tiny and not so much like Swiss cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! In my part of the states, we call this stuff sea foam. It costs a TON to buy it in the stores, so I was glad to find out this stuff is cheap and easy to make! I like to use real chocolate, though. Dark chocolate compliments the sweetness of this candy perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States