Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very good recipe. When you buy it at a candy store it is called seafoam or honeycomb. it just melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. My brother and I used to fight over the angel food candy every Christmas. It was a favorite of both of ours. After I made this, I couldn't wait for him to try some. Well, as I thought, he couldn't keep his hands off of it. When I told him that I made it, he wouldn't believe me. I actually had to show him the recipe in order to convince him that it wasn't store bought. Here are a few things that you might like to know about this recipe. First of all be sure to use all of the baking powder, stir it in quickly and then pour it into the buttered pan. Make sure you just pour it into your pan, do not spread it around. This recipe is great, but if you want the candy even lighter, be sure to butter the pan all the way up the sides and then put the candy into the oven at 200 to 250 degrees right after you pour it into the pan for ten minutes and then decrease the temperature to 170 degrees for another ten minutes. The candy will puff up and fill the entire pan. It is a good idea to use a metal pan or one of those flexible pans. This makes it easier to get the candy out when it cools. Thanks Debbie, for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very quick and easy to make. Tastes just like the old fashioned Angel Food Candy my husband grew up eating at Christmas time, he said. I used real chocolate (3 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips) and 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening to make my own chocolate coating (heated it in microwave). Then set the candy in the refrigerator to set up faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is exactley what we used to call "hot air candy." It's a very traditional Upper Peninsula Christmas candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I would actually prefer to rate this recipe at 2 stars, but feel that I should give the benefit of the doubt since I have never tried this candy before. I thought the candy would be more light and airy. Instead it was quite hard and difficult to chew. The flavor was bland. Thank you anyway Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This is JUST LIKE I remember it growing up!! It was amazingly easy to make and a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is great! I have tried a lot of different reipes, and this one is a good one. For the person who said it smells like campfire marshmallows burning; you are probably cooking it on too high heat. I used to burn mine all the time, because I was in a hurry to get it up to the required temperature on the candy thermometer. I have learned to cook it slower, and it turns out every time. I also use light corn syrup, and it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geri_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This recipe is lots of fun! Feels like a science experiment when you add the baking soda and it grows three times the size within seconds! Husband doesn't like the dark syrup taste, so I tried light corn syrup. Still tastes like campfire marshmallows (which I like, he doesn't) so I must be burning something even though I can't see it. I dipped them 1/2 way in chocolate and different holiday sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Taylor
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was a lot easier to make then I expected it to be - the key is YES! Following the recipe exactly. I wouldn't do it without a candy thermometre. An excellent and I think unique taste when compared with many things we make in the home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I remember eating this candy during the holidays when I was a child (30+ years ago!). I haven't seen it to buy for a long time, so had to try out the recipe. It was just as I remembered. It was easy to make, although mine easily filled the pan. I also prefer using semi-sweet chocolate to coat instead of the other coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States