Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Followed recipe, but it didn't turn out right. It was too chewy and it was very messy. tried it again, this time I left it on the burner longer, but still did not com out the way I was hoping. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this because my mom used to make it. There are 8 kids and we used to fight over it. I doubled the recipe. When it reached hard boil I thought - perfect! I put it in 2 glass pans... beautiful. Then it came time to break it in pieces - what was I thinking? This is a mess. Oh well, now to dipping it in chocolate - I swore NEVER AGAIN! PAIN in the butt, messy and it took 2 hours to coat all the pieces in their iceberg like sizes and shapes. --- so I dipped it in mostly milk chocolate with a little semi sweet. ---- it hardened in the cold, first taste and WHAM! This is the best candy in the world. DIVINE. ---- I'll make it every year from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleenar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this and it turned out awesome. The family said it's as good if not better then the stuff you buy in the store. There is a little trick to making this come out of the pan without any problem... I lined the bottom of my pan with Parchment paper. It also makes clean up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I can't believe how good these are. I made these for my Christmas cookie platter and they were the first to go. Everyone raved about them. I don't have a candy thermometer and the first time I made these, I didn't cook the sugar mixture long enough and they didn't turn out. The second time I cooked it for almost half an hour and kept testing drops in water. It was perfect. I will be making this every Holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I followed the tips from Lisa K's review to a T and the Angel Food Candy turned out absolutely heavenly! I cannot believe how well it turned out...just like my grandmother's from years ago. I really had my doubts while I was waiting for it to reach to the correct temperature. The boiling mixture smelled pretty nasty and I seriously doubted it would even turn out. Make sure there are no small lumps in your baking soda before adding to the hot mixture. I have been searching for a recipe like this for ages. Thank you, Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I am having so much difficulty making this recipe. It plops out of the pot all nice and foamy and thick, but then once it is in the buttered pan, it flattens down to about half an in within about a minute or two. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I've tried half a dozen times, all withthe same results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I was kind of nervous about making this because I've never made candy before, but it really was quite simple! And, it's delicious! It tastes a lot like Crunchies, a favorite of mine. I took other reviewers advice and sifted the baking soda, and i think it really is important to be patient when it comes to the candy reaching 300 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
OK, you're all probably going to hate me. I had NO trouble making this recipe at all. And I've never made it before. So, you CAN do it. Don't be afraid to try! But, I did read the reviews thoroughly. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and sifted my baking soda. I greased my GLASS (Bc it's what I have) baking pan well, over every crevice, and had everything all ready to go and in it's place when I started cooking the candy. You want to cook it LOW & SLOW. I'm talking med low heat, it will take a LONG time. Find something else to do while it's cooking., and leave it alone! I used only a cheap candy thermometer because it's what I had, and I found that my candy was ready before it reached 350 degrees. I used the cold water test. That's a better indicator of when it's ready then strictly going by the temp (again,in my opinion. I mean, what did our moms and grandmother's do without candy thermometers?). Also, I too used melted semi-sweet chocolate with just a touch of shortening in it in place of the choc conf coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Perfect! It is also called fairy food, seafoam, sponge candy, honeycomb, hot air candy, etc. After 8-10 failed batches, I finally found the way to success: If you don’t have a high quality DIGITAL candy thermometer, don’t even try this. The brand I use is CDN. Previously I had tried a cheap analog thermometer and/or testing in cold water, but the candy cooks so quickly that by the time the thermometer registered the right temp (or a sample formed a brittle thread), the candy had already cooked to a much higher temp. It burned EVERY time I tried these methods. Before starting to cook the candy, prepare: Line your pan with non-stick foil. Measure and sift baking soda. Make sure your pan is large enough, as the mixture will foam a great deal after you add the baking soda. Use a heat-proof silicone spatula for stirring the candy mixture. Cook only at medium heat or lower; higher will cause the candy to cook too fast and it will burn. Be ready; the SECOND the candy thermometer registers 295° (300° risks burning), slide your pan off the burner and add the baking soda. Stir quickly, but be sure to incorporate every bit of the soda. (It’s nasty to get even a teeny bite of pure soda!) Pour into the nonstick foil-lined pan as evenly as you can, but resist the urge to spread it. It will fill in the empty spots as it cools and settles. Score cooled candy w/ a serrated knife, then place into a Ziploc bag and break. Pieces will be irregular in shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is by far the best sponge toffee recipe I have made. Only hint is to sift the baking soda first so there are no lumps in the sponge. I doubled the recipe and got 2 1/2 pounds of weight after dipping in dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States