Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My great grandmother used to make something very similar over the holidays (I guess) per my dad. He wanted them but couldn't find a recipe so I made these. He said these were very close and loved them - as did everyone else. We all actually liked them w/o chocolate as well. Either way - 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe seems a little different,but it does make a really yummy candy. I have made several batches of this already and will be adding it to my Christmas baskets this year as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OMG made this first time and it turned out perfect. Used brwon sugar since I only had light corn syrup. My kids love it and I can't wait to give it as gifts. So easy gas stove and used 4-5. Makes me remember my sibs and cousins eating this and it was spendy then. One to add to your xmas candy file. Did use my candy themoter I would suggest buying one they are not that much and you have it for years. Enjoy Yum Yum give me some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Martin Kronschnabel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Not bad! Never had this candy before so I couldn't pass up trying the recipe after most people commented on growing up with it...where was I? Had no problems at all. Mine started to turn a little darker at 275 degrees. Had I not been right there, it would of burned. Not bad at all, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I've made this twice. The first time it came out a little burned. Tasted like roasted marshmallow, which is not bad. The second time I made it I only cooked it to 285 degrees and it was perfect. LOVE IT!! I did do the syrup in the cold water test. Excellent. Made me think of my childhood when I would ride my bike down to Jo's candy cottage in downtown manhattan beach with 10 cents and buy a huge piece...Ahh the memories. Thank you so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was just deLisH!! It was easy to make and the results were amazing. Where I come from we call this HoneyComb, but I do like the other name 'Angel Food Candy' & 'Fairy Food Candy'. Thanks for a terrific and very well received recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Followed recipe, but it didn't turn out right. It was too chewy and it was very messy. tried it again, this time I left it on the burner longer, but still did not com out the way I was hoping. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this because my mom used to make it. There are 8 kids and we used to fight over it. I doubled the recipe. When it reached hard boil I thought - perfect! I put it in 2 glass pans... beautiful. Then it came time to break it in pieces - what was I thinking? This is a mess. Oh well, now to dipping it in chocolate - I swore NEVER AGAIN! PAIN in the butt, messy and it took 2 hours to coat all the pieces in their iceberg like sizes and shapes. --- so I dipped it in mostly milk chocolate with a little semi sweet. ---- it hardened in the cold, first taste and WHAM! This is the best candy in the world. DIVINE. ---- I'll make it every year from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleenar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this and it turned out awesome. The family said it's as good if not better then the stuff you buy in the store. There is a little trick to making this come out of the pan without any problem... I lined the bottom of my pan with Parchment paper. It also makes clean up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I can't believe how good these are. I made these for my Christmas cookie platter and they were the first to go. Everyone raved about them. I don't have a candy thermometer and the first time I made these, I didn't cook the sugar mixture long enough and they didn't turn out. The second time I cooked it for almost half an hour and kept testing drops in water. It was perfect. I will be making this every Holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States