Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I will never buy angel food candy again. This was fairly easy, providing the candy thermometer is accurate, and better tasting than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wonderful, perfect recipe. BETTER than the old fashioned stuff, as I always did not like the chocolate coating on the old stuff. I just melt milk chocolate chips instead and it is a dream come true. This is my mother's favorite candy and she loves that I can now make it for her homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Need help, mine came out to hard the first time so I went down to about 275F, then it was too soft. I also found that I had huge bubbles; should I stir more? Taste great! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this today, as a fourth attempt, and third recipe. It actually turned out decently! I combined a few tips: I made sure to cook the sugar to above 300 degrees, removed it from the heat immediately and used sifted b.powder. I also followed Lisa K's suggestion to put the mixture in the oven to set. I used a silicone cake pan as well. My pizza cutter came in handy to score the candy, and it broke right along the lines. I stored it in a freezer bag (keep moisture out) until I can coat it on Sunday. I would like to figure out though, how to get the bubbles to be all teeny-tiny and not so much like Swiss cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! In my part of the states, we call this stuff sea foam. It costs a TON to buy it in the stores, so I was glad to find out this stuff is cheap and easy to make! I like to use real chocolate, though. Dark chocolate compliments the sweetness of this candy perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I was told about this candy from my husband's family that lives in Wisconsin. I had never heard of it before. I really like it and it seems to be a hit with family and friends. I did not completely cover in chocolate, just dipped a little bit. I don't know how to get it to break or cut nicely without crumbling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Try these alterations if you like it more dense and not so airy. -ONLY use 1/2 TBSP baking soda (thats 1 1/2 tsp) -Use a large 13x18" sheet pan -lined pan with foil and butter as instructed -Pour into sheet pan. It will not fill the pan but creates more room for it to spread. And it will be more dense. Not falling apart when you try to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I tried this for Christmas Eve since I had never heard of it before and looked yummy. I didn't read the reviews before so it didn't turn out as well as it could have. The candy was hard and I thought it was going to break a few teeth in the process. I do want to try this again but with recommended changes and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Totally worth the time!!! I grew up with my parents buying this candy around xmas time and HAD to make it. The first and third time I made it... it didn't turn out. It was flat and hard. The second time was SO GOOD. I followed the advice of Lisa K that time and used light corn syrup w/half brown sugar. 1st and 3rd with dark... don't know if I did something wrong. Dipped in semi-sweet chocolate and milk chocolate. I'll be making this every year for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I let each of my kids pick something to make today, and this is what my 12 year-old picked (I think she liked the name). She made most of it herself, I helped a little with the stiring. It was neat watching the transformation when we added the baking soda, almost like doing a science experiment. After cooling, we broke it into pieces and sampled. At first, we thought it was just weird. But we let it sit, dipped the pieces in chocolate and let them sit overnight. It's almost gone today. Defintely dip in chocolate. It softens it a little and adds the perfect touch. We really enjoyed this and it will probably become a holiday tradition for my daughter and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States