Angel Food Cake with Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I found this a tad too sweet for my palate, but the wife loved it! It gets an extra star just for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is the first angel's food cake i have ever made and it turned out wonderful. I don't think I beat the egg whites long enough because it was not as fluffy as I have previously had. Also I did not have almonds so I used pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Remi
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Just a note on the chopped almonds. One cup is way to many. I just eyed it and sprikled them on. It turned out to be a little under a half a cup. Other than that this is a GREAT recipe and all who have eaten it when I made it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Remi

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is a very good recipe. The cake itself is moist and delicious, with that slight egg-foam taste that I love in an angel food cake. I opted to put the chopped almonds in the bottom of my tube pan and spooned the batter over them so that they would be on top of the finished cake. It worked out just fine, though next time I may chop the almonds finer so it's easier to cut. Everyone enjoyed this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I did not have a tube pan. I used a spring-loaded cake pan (without the center hole) and baked it for 30 minutes. It worked perfectly. Also, I cut back a wee bit on the sugar. I used 3/4 cups instead of 1 cup. It tastes amazing. I also eyeballed the addition of almonds on top. Also, don't be afraid to whip the heck out of those egg whites! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
this was my first time making this cake and it came out well. It is a little too sweet. it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this last Christmas. Love the flavour of this! Light dessert but flavourful. I used the tip to put the topping in bottom of springform pan, worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Tasted really good but mine fell! I put the almonds in the bottom of the pan and I wonder if they were too heavy for it when I inverted the pan. Didn't look perfect but did taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Take a box of Angel Food Cake mix (just the contents of the box, no need to follow the directions on the box), & combine it with a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple in its own juice. (No need to use a mixer, just stir it with a spoon) When you do this, something magical happens. The mixture starts to froth & it turns into an amazingly airy, fluffy bowl of deliciousness right before your eyes. Once it's all mixed up,grease and simply pour it into a 9 x 13 cake pan & bake 350 for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ERRICAH
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made my angel food cake without the almonds and almond extract (didn't have any on hand) using this recipe and followed the directions of the angel food cake video. This is my first time using this recipe and it came out deelish!!!!(as Rachel Ray would say). It's doesn't tastes sweet to me. I didn't have any cake flour so I made my own watching a homemade cake flour recipe on Youtube. Everything came together really, really good. Good thing my son and I are the only ones who like angel food cake so there will be leftovers. My daughter will not demolish it like she usually do when it comes to cakes. My daughter can eat anything and will not gain weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERRICAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States