Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe. When I have a large supply of eggs, this is how I use them. I never have cake flour, so I use 1/8 cup cornstarch and 7/8 cup of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Totally awesome! I just made it for the 2nd time this weekend, and it turned out perfectly without any changes. As for baking time, you can never go totally by any recipe. Always deduct 10 minutes, set your timer and go from there. Every oven is different, as most are not calibrated exactly. If you follow this recipe exactly, your cake will rise above the level of the pan and have excellent flavor and texture. Note the recipe tells you to add the sugar gradually (no need to process if you do this!), and then later to FOLD in the flour, etc. This means to use a spatula and fold from top to bottom--don't use your mixer and no stirring. If you don't fold, or if you overfold, you will loose your volume for the cake! I sliced this into 3 layers and filled with lemon curd and white chocolate buttercream, then frosted w/the buttercream! Everyone totally loved it and raved about how incredible the cake was!! This is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Excellent recipe!!! I made sure I really whipped the egg whites as other posters had said and this turned out great for me. Instead of make this in the tube pan, I made muffins out of it. The recipe for me made 24 muffins (make sure to use liners or they do stick). I have my muffins currently frozen and I take one down a night for a strawberry dessert. For anyone interested also I am on weight watchers and I calculated the muffins to be about 1 1/2 pts a piece. A great snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLIEDREAMING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blairsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clymer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I made it eaven faster by cooking in muffin tins. I then made a custard with 1/2 the yolks, 1 1/2 c milk, 1/4 c sugar and 1 tbl vanilla over a double boiler and whammm! I had a great quick low fat dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
this a wonderful and easy recipe. I've always used a mix to make angel food, but i'll always use this one now. If you don't have cream of tartar, use baking soda in the same quantity. It works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
My dad loved this cake and he is the pickiest eater in the world! I didn't think it tasted egg-y at all. Super easy!! It was moister than any store-bought cake I've ever had, even my dad who likes store cake never knew that angel food cake was supposed to be moist. I followed previous ratings and "whipped it till the cows came home". With the leftover egg yolks I made egg noodles!! They (egg yolks) will keep in a covered jar in the fridge for a few days until you get a chance to use them. This was wonderful, I plan on making it several times a year. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Even though I messed up the recipe a little bit, it tasted absolutely wonderful. I didn't have any cake flour on hand so I sifted regular all-purpose flour 3 times and then deducted 2 tablespoons. I also added half a teaspoon of almond extract, just to add another dimension to the angel food cake. The variations you can make are boundless. I would think adding lemon / orange zest would be great as well. Oh also, to prevent over-burning, perhaps you can try covering it with foil for 20 minutes or so. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I was using this cake for strawberry shortcake, and on the third (!) try, I got it right. I used parchment paper on the bottom of two 9 inch pans,(they stuck without it on cake #1), and I wasted about 1/3 cup of batter, cooked them for about 15 minutes, making sure the tops were EVENLY golden brown, (cake #2 was undercooked), and when they came out of the oven I propped them on something upside down so they did not deflate (cake #1 deflated). In the end, the cake was Fabulous and my mother made me make one for her the next day!!! Definitely a keeper, and I will refer to my review next time so I do not forget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I made this for my husband when he asked for an Angel Food cake for his birthday....and I didn't realize that you could buy them boxed. I put a homemade whipped cream frosting on it. Several people told me it was the best cake they'd had in their lives(!) - a very high mark for someone who doesn't cook much. Even I thought it was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This is a beautiful cake, everyone in my family loves it. So fluffy and moist it truely deserves the moniker "angel food"! The secret is to whip it till the cows come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States