Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Loved it! I used the egg white carton (1 egg carton=12 egg whites), and because I couldn't find cream of tartar, I used 3x its amount in lemon juice (aka 4.5 tsp lemon juice), and it came out great, without a hint of lemon! (which I wouldn't have minded!) I also used all purpose flour instead of cake flour and didn't realize I should've used 2 less tbsp in quantity, and it still came out great! (I did triple sift it as someone else suggested!) I topped the finish product with fresh cut strawberries and whipped cream, and it was awesome! My friend who I made it for (bday cake!) loved that it was moist and fluffy! I'd definitely make it again! :) (note- I followed the recommendation of beating the eggs on high "til the cows come home", that was helpful I think! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Perfect! Delicious with whipped cream and strawberries as shown. No need to look for any other angel food cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Not good. I will stick to the box. I used egg whites from the carton..maybe that is why this didn't turn out?? It actually tasted like an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was good. I used a bundt pan and baked for 30 minutes. I lowered the temp to 350 for the last 10 minutes because it was browning very quickly. It was a bit tricky getting out of the pan and came out pretty lopsided, but the taste made up for it. I will probably reduce the sugar a bit next time. Also, my eggs came right out of the fridge- next time I will let them come to room temperature. I whipped the eggs at high speed for about 5 minutes until the peaks formed. I topped this cake with homemade whipped cream and strawberries for a strawberry shortcake variation. Very yummy and surprisingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent excellent recipe!! The cake was moist and flavorful baked at 40 mins. I have had failures with angel food in the past. So I know the importance of washing beaters, utensils, bowl & pan in hot soapy water & swish w/white vinegar. I also made sure the egg whites were absolutely room temp. The results were PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great angel food cake! I did this recipe to use up a large number of leftover egg whites, and I wasn't even expecting it to come out. It was very simple, and delicious to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe was great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used all-purpose flour. Like other reviewers, I made these into muffins and then made individual strawberry shortcakes. I cut each muffin in half, removing the top, and put a spoonful of homemade whipped topping, a spoonful of cut up fresh strawberries, replaced the top of the muffin, and topped it off with another spoonful of whipped topping. They turned out light, sweet, and easy to handle - and only approx 90 calories each! Bonus! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was the first dessert that has ever gone from the oven to the trash can. I had no problem with it rising or sticking. The taste & texture of this cake was horrible. My 8 year old spit this out so quick and trust me when it comes to sweets he is not hard to please. My husband who loves sweets said it was "nasty" and "tasted like eggs, only worse" sorry for the bad review but this recipe needs help. Will not make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My brother's favorite. I've made it 5 plus times, and it always comes out perfect: light and springy, the way angel foodcake is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I used Eggbeaters boxed egg whites so I didn't need to worry about what to do with 12 yolks & that was helpful. I only had a silicone bundt pan to use & the cake stuck but it rose nicely, had a nice texture &.....I hated it. It was so sweet it gave me a headache. I don't think it's the recipe at all, just my personal taste. Thanks for sharing it:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States