Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It was a very good cake, a little bit sweet but still good. I made sure i didn't add a lot of sugar in the whipped cream and strawberries since the cake was already sweet:). The only reason why i only gave 4 stars is because after cooling the cake and taking it our of the tube pan, i found that the top wasn't flat. It looks like some parts of the top was missing but it still came out pretty well:). nothing a whipped cream on top can't handle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this for my 11 year old son's birthday because he wanted strawberry shortcake w/o the biscuit...so I made this Angel Food Cake in it's place. I started making it in muffin tins but found the cakes to be waayyyyy too small (even though they were filled to the top). Seeing as I still had a good amount of batter left I decided to make it in a tube pan. It came out perfectly and it tasted great....smelled fabulous while baking. Will most definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Great recipe. I made this gluten free using an all purpose gluten free flour and it came out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The texture in angel food is as important as the flavor in my opinion and did not like either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I never made an angel food cake before, and lets just say, this one didn't last long in my house. Delicious! Easy! I'm now hooked on homemade, I will be making this one again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
If I could give this recipe 100 stars, I would. It is so forgiving. I never made angel food from scratch and got this brainy idea tonight. How many things could go wrong? Oh let me count the ways. First, didn't read the recipe the whole way through and mixed all ingredients at once. Scrapped it and started over. Round two. Only had dried egg whites. By mistake, mixed them in cold water (not warm like the instructions say). Oh well. They never formed peaks. But I kept going. Didn't have cream of tartar, so i used 4 tsp lemon juice like another reviewer suggested. Still no peaks. Lovely foam though. Popped in the oven and held my breath. 45 minutes later....heaven. Who knew! It is a little more dense that typical angel food but not by much. UPDATE: Made this today EXACTLY to the recipe and want to clarify a few points I originally made. The one I made rated above did have a bitter aftertaste, I think from the lemon, although my hubs didn't notice it. There really is no suitable sub for cream of tartar. Also used whites in the carton this time. Used stand mixer this time instead of hand mixer. Got the peaks. And YOU MUST cool this upside down on a bottle or it will fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Loved it! I used the egg white carton (1 egg carton=12 egg whites), and because I couldn't find cream of tartar, I used 3x its amount in lemon juice (aka 4.5 tsp lemon juice), and it came out great, without a hint of lemon! (which I wouldn't have minded!) I also used all purpose flour instead of cake flour and didn't realize I should've used 2 less tbsp in quantity, and it still came out great! (I did triple sift it as someone else suggested!) I topped the finish product with fresh cut strawberries and whipped cream, and it was awesome! My friend who I made it for (bday cake!) loved that it was moist and fluffy! I'd definitely make it again! :) (note- I followed the recommendation of beating the eggs on high "til the cows come home", that was helpful I think! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Perfect! Delicious with whipped cream and strawberries as shown. No need to look for any other angel food cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Not good. I will stick to the box. I used egg whites from the carton..maybe that is why this didn't turn out?? It actually tasted like an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was good. I used a bundt pan and baked for 30 minutes. I lowered the temp to 350 for the last 10 minutes because it was browning very quickly. It was a bit tricky getting out of the pan and came out pretty lopsided, but the taste made up for it. I will probably reduce the sugar a bit next time. Also, my eggs came right out of the fridge- next time I will let them come to room temperature. I whipped the eggs at high speed for about 5 minutes until the peaks formed. I topped this cake with homemade whipped cream and strawberries for a strawberry shortcake variation. Very yummy and surprisingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States