Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I wasn't quite happy with this recipe. It was missing something. But, by no means, was it a bad recipe. It was excellent! Just not quite the flavour I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The first time I made this I used egg beaters and it did not turn out, maybe I did not beat enough. The second time I used egg whites, room temperature, and beat them for about 20 minutes before adding the sugar etc. This cake is very good. I did add 2 teaspoons of vanilla, double strength, because I love vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I just made this cake for my sisters birthday. I followed the recipe exactly and was scared about how it would turn out because a lot of people were saying it didnt work out. However, i gave this cake 5 stars. It was amazing, light and fluffy and everybody enjoyed it!! Thats definately a plus!! I would make this again in a heartbeat. Mixing the eggwhites is everything. You dont want to over-mix them, because that will make a much flatter cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Came out looking great, and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I was trying to find a cake lower in cholesterol and decided to try an angel food cake. I didn't want to waste egg yolks so I used 1 16 oz container of 100% liquid egg whites. The carton stated it equaled 8 large eggs, so I figured it woud be okay if the recipe needed 12 more likely medium eggs. The cake sprang up really well in the oven. After I removed it I let it cool a little and then inverted it onto a funnel on a plate to rest and cool the rest of the way. I didn't understand the soda bottle technique. The cake looked beautiful and also cut well. I thought it tasted similar to what I know as an angel food cake, but it was a tad more eggy tasting then I expected when warm. That may have been because I used carton egg whites? However, once cooled it lost some of the eggy flavor and tasted more like what I know as an angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
fabulously delicious! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Missing the almond extract. Add 1 1/2 tsp for a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I don't know whatI did wrong, but the cake was fine on the outside but looked like solid rubber on the inside. Smothered in cool whip and strawberries it was still edible, but I won't make it again : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Loved it! Again, beat the hell out of the eggs and let cool upside down. The bottle trick did not work for me, but I have a cooling rack, so it wasn't necessary. Do NOT think (as I did once) you can make this recipe without cake flour or fine sugar. Don't waste your time. Batter should be like melted marshmallow when you put in in your pan. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This cake was incredible - the BEST angel food cake I've ever had. Followed the directions exactly. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States