Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mel
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! Light, fluffy, & delicious! I made it to make as strawberry shortcake... Everyone started eating it before I even assembled the "shortcake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great recipe just as is. Sooooo good right out of the pan. Crispy outer texture, and soft melt-in-your-mouth moist cake goodness inside. Can't go wrong on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by animalluver
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a great cake! We whipped up some whipped cream ( 1/2 c. Heavy cream and 2 tsp. powdered sugar ) and topped it with some freshly picked berries and a sprig of mint. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animalluver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter except I used vanilla and almond extracts 50/50 . Everything was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I had really high hopes for this recipie. It WAS super fast and easy to prepare, but the end result was very dense and seemed almost undercooked even after browned. Not the light & fluffy cake I wanted, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe was WAY too egg-y. Like think quiche with sugar, and you've nailed this recipe. Yes, it did have the consistency of angel food cake, but it tasted and smelled like eggs. Oh, and as another reviewer posted, yes you can substitute baking soda for cream of tartar (at 1-1 ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Searcy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It was very delicious. I did substitute cream of tartar with baking powder since I didn't have any on hand. I also turned the heat down to 325 while baking. I will definitely make this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have made this 3 times, and every time it came out perfectly. It's such a simple and clean recipe. So much more healthy than a store box. I use liquid egg whites, way easier, and I use 1 1/2 cup of them. That seems to equal 12 egg whites. As I said, I have made this tasty recipe 3 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This cake tastes AMAZING, BUT it stuck to the pan, so the top of my cake is falling apart. I'm going to cover it with whipped cream icing and strawberries so it doesn't really matter, but has anyone else had this problem and how did you solve it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have never baked a cake from scratch before. Furthermore, I stink at cooking. Everything I make has some kind of horrible flaw. I’ve made my peace with it though. Also I find egg whites intimidating for some reason. I've never had any luck with them. Anyway, my wife wanted an angel food cake for her birthday. Being the amazing husband that I am I decided to try and make her a homemade angel food cake. I was nervous going in because of those darn egg whites. Since there are only 6 ingredients needed I was willing to risk a potential failure. Plus it didn’t hurt that I had all the ingredients just hanging around not doing anything anyway. In the end the cake came out amazingly, awesomely, great. My wife was shocked and amazed. I honestly cannot imagine what went wrong for the folks that gave it one star. Something mysterious happened because if a total cooking buffoon such as me can make this cake AND have it come out like it did, and then anyone on Earth should be able to pull it off. In no way, shape, or form could a box cake beat this cake. Perhaps to a person with no tongue a box cake would be better (no offense to anyone without a tongue). For my foolish oven it took between 30 – 35 minutes to cook. I did the push/spring back test with 10 minutes left in the cooking time and springy it was. Have a good weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States