Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was my first Angel food cake and the recipe was super easy! Thank you for a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I made a 1/2 recipie of this the other nite and did them in cupcake liners in my muffin tins and they came out great - made 1 dozen exactly! Today I thought I'd see how they'd turn out using splenda instead of sugar, so I made a 1/4 batch using 1/4 cup flour, 2 Tbsp Splenda, 3 egg whites, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp cream of tarter and 1/8 tsp salt. I did not mix 1/2 the splenda with the flour, but just added it in after the eggs, vanilla, c.o.t. and salt were whipped and at it's volume. I only baked them for 15 min at 375. They came out pretty good... a little tough, but that's because I'm not that great at folding in and I lost quite a bit of volume when adding the flour. I have diabetic mother and mother-in-law and I am in a life-long battle with my weight, so this little cupcake at right around 50 cal. & 16g carbs each will be a nice treat around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Even though my angel food cake went terribly wrong. I thought it was still pretty good. I am definitely going to try it again! (It was my first attempt ever) What I did wrong: I used COLD egg whites instead of room temperature. I didn't make sure everything was clean and dry. I used a metal bowl. According to my mother, these are all no-nos when trying to whip eggs up into peaks. My eggs ended up kind of frothy, so I used them anyway. My cake was only half of the height it should have been, but it still tasted really good, if slightly tough on the outside. I only cooked it for about 35 minutes. I definitely recommend this recipe, as even done poorly, it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Excellent! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is extremely easy to make. I altered the recipe, and used Splenda instead of sugar. I also topped each slice with blueberries and syrup. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe was fantastic. I halved the recipe since only my husband and I were eating it and it turned out perfect... I live in East Asia so who knows what type of flour I was using and my sugar was a little bulky compared to the fine sugar in America but it still turned out. I'm impressed and I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This cake turned out great. I prepared and baked it per the directions. I did have to take it out a few minutes earlier than what the directions said as I was afraid it would burn. It was very difficult to remove from the pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I love homemade angel food cake, even though it takes a bit of time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Fabulous,a bit of work, but worth it, much better than the ones in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmcelle
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This cake has way too much cream of tartar in it. It made the cake taste sour and masked its sweetness. Also stuck to the pan really badly and I had to take it out in pieces and frost the pieces in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmcelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States