Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Love this, love this, love this! You can do so many things with angelfood cake anyway. I did use the advice of a former rater and mix 1/8 cornstarch w/ 7/8 flour because we are 110 miles from town and I never have cake flour either. I save my whites from making eggs benedict and other things requiring yolks only, and freeze them, so I can make this whenever I want to, using 1 egg white= 1 fl oz, or 2 TBL, or 1/4 cup = 2 lg egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I was really skeptical while I was making this. It stuck to the pan slightly and when you fold the flour into the eggs it doesn't really dissolve. However, the cake was SO awesome. Highly recommend. You can cut the sugar down, it was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, and both times it has turned out great! It always comes out golden brown and rises properly. The only problem with this is that the second time I made this cake I put it in for 42 minutes; it came out golden but in a few areas it began getting very dark. I would suggest putting the cake in for about 40 minutes, check it, and judge it from there. Other than this, this recipe for Angel Food Cake is great and is sure to satisfy your sweet tooth without the fat other types of cakes have. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have a crazy story about this cake: I made this cake to give to the children at a daycare I was demonstrating kitchen skills at, so they could take it home to their parents. I snuck a piece out and we left. As my boyfriend was driving us home, I gave him a bite. He liked it so much that he closed his eyes and ran a stop sign! Don't eat this while driving lol. Very good, came out similar to Angel Food Cake I but a bit moister. Oh, and it did rise a little funny but it was ok (the ring of cake around the outer edge of the pan rose higher than the cake closer to the funnel hole)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I got a bit intimidated when I watched the video, with all of the cleaning all utensils with vinegar, and the special pan and all. Mine turned out almost perfect, but it did fall a bit while in the oven, and maybe that's because I wasn't meticulous enough, or folded the dry ingredients too much. But it still tasted great, and didn't collapse! I did use a regular bundt pan as I didn't have an angel food cake pan. No problem at all. And i think it's a prettier shape! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
The cake tastes great (I only put it in 1 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet enough) but for some reason the middle section sunk in!! I don't know what went wrong. But, the taste is there and I would certainly consider making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KiwiOz0708
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
A little denser than i would have liked. Tasted liked angel food cake, but texture just wasn't there, but that could have been because i used 1C flour, minus 2tbsp,plus 1tbsp of cornstarch instead of cake flour. Tastes even better though with whip cream and strawberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiOz0708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this as stated, except I used all-purpose flour and it turned out GREAT! Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Really good. I'm confused by the recipe's instructions to invert on a bottle. Huh? Wouldn't the cake fall out in chunks? I have now made this three times and I think I've perfected the folding technique. It really makes a difference when you do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States