Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This cake was incredible - the BEST angel food cake I've ever had. Followed the directions exactly. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this for my grandma's birthday with no changes. Everyone loved it and the cake was gone so quickly!! I topped it with drizzled chocolate and caramel. I also invested in a FoodNetwork pan that has pegs for easy inverted cooling - no need for using a bottle. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yummy! I made mini muffins out of these. My son loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Tired of spending a lot for box mixture, I decided to make my first scratch cake. I was apprehensive, but, I followed all the directions and only sbstituted the vanilla for almond extract. I am so excited. The cake had so much volume, it was to the top of my tube pan. The texture is fabulous and the flavor superb. It does not taste bland like the box mixes or bought cakes. This cake disappeared quickly. Can you imagine if I had used some fruit with this? Wow! Will definitely make this again. Thanks, Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It was a very good cake, a little bit sweet but still good. I made sure i didn't add a lot of sugar in the whipped cream and strawberries since the cake was already sweet:). The only reason why i only gave 4 stars is because after cooling the cake and taking it our of the tube pan, i found that the top wasn't flat. It looks like some parts of the top was missing but it still came out pretty well:). nothing a whipped cream on top can't handle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this for my 11 year old son's birthday because he wanted strawberry shortcake w/o the biscuit...so I made this Angel Food Cake in it's place. I started making it in muffin tins but found the cakes to be waayyyyy too small (even though they were filled to the top). Seeing as I still had a good amount of batter left I decided to make it in a tube pan. It came out perfectly and it tasted great....smelled fabulous while baking. Will most definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Great recipe. I made this gluten free using an all purpose gluten free flour and it came out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The texture in angel food is as important as the flavor in my opinion and did not like either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I never made an angel food cake before, and lets just say, this one didn't last long in my house. Delicious! Easy! I'm now hooked on homemade, I will be making this one again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
If I could give this recipe 100 stars, I would. It is so forgiving. I never made angel food from scratch and got this brainy idea tonight. How many things could go wrong? Oh let me count the ways. First, didn't read the recipe the whole way through and mixed all ingredients at once. Scrapped it and started over. Round two. Only had dried egg whites. By mistake, mixed them in cold water (not warm like the instructions say). Oh well. They never formed peaks. But I kept going. Didn't have cream of tartar, so i used 4 tsp lemon juice like another reviewer suggested. Still no peaks. Lovely foam though. Popped in the oven and held my breath. 45 minutes later....heaven. Who knew! It is a little more dense that typical angel food but not by much. UPDATE: Made this today EXACTLY to the recipe and want to clarify a few points I originally made. The one I made rated above did have a bitter aftertaste, I think from the lemon, although my hubs didn't notice it. There really is no suitable sub for cream of tartar. Also used whites in the carton this time. Used stand mixer this time instead of hand mixer. Got the peaks. And YOU MUST cool this upside down on a bottle or it will fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States