Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This came together beautifully, and baked up wonderfully to a lovely golden brown. Unfortunately this cake has the same cloyingly sweet taste and gummy texture all made-from-scratch angel food cakes seem to have. I made the day before I was going to serve it and ended up making the good ol' Betty Crocker boxed angel food cake in the morning to serve instead. This one will likely end up in the freezer for use in a trifle or something else where it's not the centre of attention and the sweetness can be balanced out or masked a bit. A waste of time and ingredients. UPDATE: the cake box cake collapsed when I inverted it, so I had to serve this one. What a difference a day makes!! It ended up tasting great! So, my advice is to make it a day ahead, the cloying sweet taste was gone and everyone loved it ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This cake was absolutely delicious, so light and airy and perfectly sweet. I baked in loaf pans and didn't have much trouble with removing the cake (we were prepared to serve from the pan just in case) by running my knife along the edges and having dusted with flour beforehand. I didn't have cake flour or cream of tartar on hand, so I used substitutes for both. I used 1 tablespoon cornstarch and the rest of the 1 cup all purpose flour. I replaced the cream of tartar with lemon juice after searching the internet for a suitable swap. Really, I decided to make the cake so I wouldn't waste leftover egg whites from baking other desserts that called for yolks only. I'm so glad I did, the cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I cut all the ingredients by half (and only used 1/2 cup sugar) and baked these in regular sized muffin pan. The halved recipe made 9 cakes. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes. Turned out perfect. Calories come to 76 per "muffin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe was perfect, great flavor. Make sure you whip the egg whites long enough and FOLD in the flour/sugar gently. This one's going in my box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XASTIEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Wonderful. I didn't have cake flour so I used 7/8 cup all purpose and 1/8 cornstarch powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Turned out perfect! My family said it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Super easy to put together and simple in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This cake was wonderful I never made angel food cake and this was my first time and it came out beautiful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tinkerbellgurl91
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I have tried other angel food cake recipes, but this one is the best! :D This is my second time baking it. I added a couple of drops of red food coloring to make it pink, cause I LOVE pink! and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
From someone who makes a lot of Angel Food cakes, this is not the best. To make a really good one, you need to use powdered sugar with the flour, not white sugar. The white sugar weighed the batter down and it didn't rise as well. Also, the cake lacked flavor. I also use just a bit of almond extract in mine to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States