Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I will never buy a box with preservatives again. I DID IT! I made angel food cake. The directions were easy. Just make sure you have no egg yolks at all mixed in with whites and make sure you fold the dry ingredients. Cake cooked in a shorter time. I did balance my pan with tabs on coffee cups which was a suggestion on the Buzz. I have to say not putting anything on the pan scared me and it wasn't super easy to take off the pan, but I was careful and patient. The taste was great, and the fresh strawberries from the freezer from Spring was even better. Def. take the short amount of time to make homemade whipped cream it only adds to the whole scene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Okay, I did mine in muffin pans and let me tell you, dusting with flour is not good enough (unless maybe you want to use a whole lot of flour). Don't be stupid like me and wait for it to really spring back at you. If it is evenly brown, it is probably done. I burnt all of mine and it was really sad. The flavor was alright, and perhaps in a tube pan it's awesome and worth five stars, but I am guessing I'd still give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This cake is amazing! I have always loved angel food cake but never had it homemade. It was so much moister than any I have ever tasted. It is easily one of the best cakes I have ever tasted and that says a lot. I used my egg yolks up making the gold cake someone else suggested and found it very good too. I love topping the angel food cake with whipped cream and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple of time now and it's always a big hit! I never have cake flour on hand so I just subtract 2 Tbsp from 1 cup of all purpose flour. I also make sure that I run the flour and sugar mixture through the sifter several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
The final product is a wonderful, fluffy cake that is just sweet enough to satisfy a carb craving. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and baked in a bundt pan. After all, modifications would not lend to a true review of the original. I cracked all my eggs then whipped the vanilla, cream of tartar, and salt into the egg whites. I started at about medium speed then cranked it up as high as it would go for a good 15 minutes. Also- Loved the wine bottle suggestion! Works Great! Three tips for the novice: 1) NO YOLKS! not even a drop! 2) whip it! whip it good! -or at least 5 minutes past the point you think you're done 3) dust your bundt pan with a light coat of cake flour, but DO NOT grease the pan... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Loved this recipe! I will never make a boxed angel food cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was my second attempt at making an angel food cake, came out much better than my first, but still a bit at eggy tasting...and how do I keep the cake from sinking? It didn't sink bad and I did cool it upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Easy.....Old fashioned goodness! Thanks for the recipe! Our Chickens make this cake so handy to use up our Bounty, and it's a healthier version of cake! ;) Luv!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LookyCooky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This came together beautifully, and baked up wonderfully to a lovely golden brown. Unfortunately this cake has the same cloyingly sweet taste and gummy texture all made-from-scratch angel food cakes seem to have. I made the day before I was going to serve it and ended up making the good ol' Betty Crocker boxed angel food cake in the morning to serve instead. This one will likely end up in the freezer for use in a trifle or something else where it's not the centre of attention and the sweetness can be balanced out or masked a bit. A waste of time and ingredients. UPDATE: the cake box cake collapsed when I inverted it, so I had to serve this one. What a difference a day makes!! It ended up tasting great! So, my advice is to make it a day ahead, the cloying sweet taste was gone and everyone loved it ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This cake was absolutely delicious, so light and airy and perfectly sweet. I baked in loaf pans and didn't have much trouble with removing the cake (we were prepared to serve from the pan just in case) by running my knife along the edges and having dusted with flour beforehand. I didn't have cake flour or cream of tartar on hand, so I used substitutes for both. I used 1 tablespoon cornstarch and the rest of the 1 cup all purpose flour. I replaced the cream of tartar with lemon juice after searching the internet for a suitable swap. Really, I decided to make the cake so I wouldn't waste leftover egg whites from baking other desserts that called for yolks only. I'm so glad I did, the cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States