Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
CAN anyone hear me screaming? The cake turned out Superb! I have never made one before but used to watch my mother invert the cake and all was well. WELL, my cake fell out of the freaking pan when I inverted it! WTH! My son said it tastes like a delicous marshmallow from heaven but the entire cake is in a heap and broken to smithereens. I'm still using it but where did I go wrong? It's they typical 10 inch tube pan. ARGH! UPDATE: When you make this the first time, don't listen to the person who says to only cook it 35 minutes... The reason the cake falls after being inverted (I found out) is because it isn't done. The Pro's say it's better to overcook and Angel Food than under cook and that's exactly what happened with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Followed measurements exactly and it made a wonderful angel food cake! I cooked this at 350 for 40 minutes because I was afraid of it getting too brown. Turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vha2581
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Had to make a smaller recipe, but it came out good. Maybe it was me but it was burning a bit. Still good. Would make again and check or see what I could do different to fix this. Not bad for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The bottom (which was the top of the cake while baking) was becoming crunchy while the top (bottom during baking) must not have been done yet. When I flipped this over and let it sit for the appropriate amount of time, it fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Nothing wrong with this recipe, but flavor not the greatest. Next time I will decrease cream of tartar to 1 tsp and salt to 1/4 tsp. Had a slight tang from the acid (cream of tartar) and I could taste salt. It did fall out of the pan when doing the upside down cooling trick; I think it could have cooked another 3-5 minutes and maybe it wouldn't have fallen. Great way to use up lots of egg whites after making 1 gallon frozen custard with our farm fresh eggs and goats milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
If you have a Kitchenaid 5 quart stand mixer, you'll find that when you're beating the egg whites, it will reach the top of the bowl and almost flow over. I made the mistake of trying to fold the flour in the 5 qt bowl and ended up working it too much which resulted in the cake not rising. However, even with the cake only baking to half the size, the taste was wonderful. The next time I will transfer the egg whites to a larger bowl so I will have more room to fold the mixture. I used a little more than 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups. I didn't want too sweet of a cake. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The cake just tasted eggy and a bit doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! Light, fluffy, & delicious! I made it to make as strawberry shortcake... Everyone started eating it before I even assembled the "shortcake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great recipe just as is. Sooooo good right out of the pan. Crispy outer texture, and soft melt-in-your-mouth moist cake goodness inside. Can't go wrong on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizzy :)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a great cake! We whipped up some whipped cream ( 1/2 c. Heavy cream and 2 tsp. powdered sugar ) and topped it with some freshly picked berries and a sprig of mint. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy :)

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States