Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chanel0824
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I only book mark "never fail recipe", this is one of them. I zested one lemon to make a lemony angel food cake and the flavor turned out great. I agree with the 350F, otherwise the cake will be too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanel0824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have made this recipe a number of times now and every time it has turned out perfectly. The only change I made was to use a bit of almond extract. As an American living overseas this recipe is very much appreciated because we can't get angel food cake box mix here. In my opinion, this tastes better than any box mix I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I had 6 egg whites to use up after making hollandaise sauce, so I made half of this recipe in an 8" square pan and baked for 25 minutes. Easy and delicious recipe, no need for any changes. Folding the flour in very carefully and gently is the key, as is making sure you don't overmix. It's okay if there are still some small lumps. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The cake turned out Superb! My cake fell out of the freaking pan when I inverted it! My son said it tastes like a delicous marshmallow from heaven but the entire cake is in a heap and broken to smithereens. I'm still using it but where did I go wrong? It's they typical 10 inch tube pan. ARGH! UPDATE: When you make this the first time, don't listen to the person who says to only cook it 35 minutes... The reason the cake falls after being inverted (I found out) is because it isn't done. The Pro's say it's better to overcook and Angel Food than under cook and that's exactly what happened with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Followed measurements exactly and it made a wonderful angel food cake! I cooked this at 350 for 40 minutes because I was afraid of it getting too brown. Turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vha2581
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Had to make a smaller recipe, but it came out good. Maybe it was me but it was burning a bit. Still good. Would make again and check or see what I could do different to fix this. Not bad for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The bottom (which was the top of the cake while baking) was becoming crunchy while the top (bottom during baking) must not have been done yet. When I flipped this over and let it sit for the appropriate amount of time, it fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Nothing wrong with this recipe, but flavor not the greatest. Next time I will decrease cream of tartar to 1 tsp and salt to 1/4 tsp. Had a slight tang from the acid (cream of tartar) and I could taste salt. It did fall out of the pan when doing the upside down cooling trick; I think it could have cooked another 3-5 minutes and maybe it wouldn't have fallen. Great way to use up lots of egg whites after making 1 gallon frozen custard with our farm fresh eggs and goats milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
If you have a Kitchenaid 5 quart stand mixer, you'll find that when you're beating the egg whites, it will reach the top of the bowl and almost flow over. I made the mistake of trying to fold the flour in the 5 qt bowl and ended up working it too much which resulted in the cake not rising. However, even with the cake only baking to half the size, the taste was wonderful. The next time I will transfer the egg whites to a larger bowl so I will have more room to fold the mixture. I used a little more than 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups. I didn't want too sweet of a cake. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The cake just tasted eggy and a bit doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States