Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe was great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used all-purpose flour. Like other reviewers, I made these into muffins and then made individual strawberry shortcakes. I cut each muffin in half, removing the top, and put a spoonful of homemade whipped topping, a spoonful of cut up fresh strawberries, replaced the top of the muffin, and topped it off with another spoonful of whipped topping. They turned out light, sweet, and easy to handle - and only approx 90 calories each! Bonus! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was the first dessert that has ever gone from the oven to the trash can. I had no problem with it rising or sticking. The taste & texture of this cake was horrible. My 8 year old spit this out so quick and trust me when it comes to sweets he is not hard to please. My husband who loves sweets said it was "nasty" and "tasted like eggs, only worse" sorry for the bad review but this recipe needs help. Will not make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My brother's favorite. I've made it 5 plus times, and it always comes out perfect: light and springy, the way angel foodcake is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I used Eggbeaters boxed egg whites so I didn't need to worry about what to do with 12 yolks & that was helpful. I only had a silicone bundt pan to use & the cake stuck but it rose nicely, had a nice texture &.....I hated it. It was so sweet it gave me a headache. I don't think it's the recipe at all, just my personal taste. Thanks for sharing it:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I baked this at 375 and at about 35 minutes the top burnt. I dont even care how it tastes at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Love this, love this, love this! You can do so many things with angelfood cake anyway. I did use the advice of a former rater and mix 1/8 cornstarch w/ 7/8 flour because we are 110 miles from town and I never have cake flour either. I save my whites from making eggs benedict and other things requiring yolks only, and freeze them, so I can make this whenever I want to, using 1 egg white= 1 fl oz, or 2 TBL, or 1/4 cup = 2 lg egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I was really skeptical while I was making this. It stuck to the pan slightly and when you fold the flour into the eggs it doesn't really dissolve. However, the cake was SO awesome. Highly recommend. You can cut the sugar down, it was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, and both times it has turned out great! It always comes out golden brown and rises properly. The only problem with this is that the second time I made this cake I put it in for 42 minutes; it came out golden but in a few areas it began getting very dark. I would suggest putting the cake in for about 40 minutes, check it, and judge it from there. Other than this, this recipe for Angel Food Cake is great and is sure to satisfy your sweet tooth without the fat other types of cakes have. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have a crazy story about this cake: I made this cake to give to the children at a daycare I was demonstrating kitchen skills at, so they could take it home to their parents. I snuck a piece out and we left. As my boyfriend was driving us home, I gave him a bite. He liked it so much that he closed his eyes and ran a stop sign! Don't eat this while driving lol. Very good, came out similar to Angel Food Cake I but a bit moister. Oh, and it did rise a little funny but it was ok (the ring of cake around the outer edge of the pan rose higher than the cake closer to the funnel hole)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I got a bit intimidated when I watched the video, with all of the cleaning all utensils with vinegar, and the special pan and all. Mine turned out almost perfect, but it did fall a bit while in the oven, and maybe that's because I wasn't meticulous enough, or folded the dry ingredients too much. But it still tasted great, and didn't collapse! I did use a regular bundt pan as I didn't have an angel food cake pan. No problem at all. And i think it's a prettier shape! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States