Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Came out looking great, and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I was trying to find a cake lower in cholesterol and decided to try an angel food cake. I didn't want to waste egg yolks so I used 1 16 oz container of 100% liquid egg whites. The carton stated it equaled 8 large eggs, so I figured it woud be okay if the recipe needed 12 more likely medium eggs. The cake sprang up really well in the oven. After I removed it I let it cool a little and then inverted it onto a funnel on a plate to rest and cool the rest of the way. I didn't understand the soda bottle technique. The cake looked beautiful and also cut well. I thought it tasted similar to what I know as an angel food cake, but it was a tad more eggy tasting then I expected when warm. That may have been because I used carton egg whites? However, once cooled it lost some of the eggy flavor and tasted more like what I know as an angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
fabulously delicious! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Missing the almond extract. Add 1 1/2 tsp for a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I don't know whatI did wrong, but the cake was fine on the outside but looked like solid rubber on the inside. Smothered in cool whip and strawberries it was still edible, but I won't make it again : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Loved it! Again, beat the hell out of the eggs and let cool upside down. The bottle trick did not work for me, but I have a cooling rack, so it wasn't necessary. Do NOT think (as I did once) you can make this recipe without cake flour or fine sugar. Don't waste your time. Batter should be like melted marshmallow when you put in in your pan. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This cake was incredible - the BEST angel food cake I've ever had. Followed the directions exactly. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this for my grandma's birthday with no changes. Everyone loved it and the cake was gone so quickly!! I topped it with drizzled chocolate and caramel. I also invested in a FoodNetwork pan that has pegs for easy inverted cooling - no need for using a bottle. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yummy! I made mini muffins out of these. My son loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Tired of spending a lot for box mixture, I decided to make my first scratch cake. I was apprehensive, but, I followed all the directions and only sbstituted the vanilla for almond extract. I am so excited. The cake had so much volume, it was to the top of my tube pan. The texture is fabulous and the flavor superb. It does not taste bland like the box mixes or bought cakes. This cake disappeared quickly. Can you imagine if I had used some fruit with this? Wow! Will definitely make this again. Thanks, Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States