Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This cake is amazing! I have always loved angel food cake but never had it homemade. It was so much moister than any I have ever tasted. It is easily one of the best cakes I have ever tasted and that says a lot. I used my egg yolks up making the gold cake someone else suggested and found it very good too. I love topping the angel food cake with whipped cream and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple of time now and it's always a big hit! I never have cake flour on hand so I just subtract 2 Tbsp from 1 cup of all purpose flour. I also make sure that I run the flour and sugar mixture through the sifter several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
The final product is a wonderful, fluffy cake that is just sweet enough to satisfy a carb craving. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and baked in a bundt pan. After all, modifications would not lend to a true review of the original. I cracked all my eggs then whipped the vanilla, cream of tartar, and salt into the egg whites. I started at about medium speed then cranked it up as high as it would go for a good 15 minutes. Also- Loved the wine bottle suggestion! Works Great! Three tips for the novice: 1) NO YOLKS! not even a drop! 2) whip it! whip it good! -or at least 5 minutes past the point you think you're done 3) dust your bundt pan with a light coat of cake flour, but DO NOT grease the pan... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Loved this recipe! I will never make a boxed angel food cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was my second attempt at making an angel food cake, came out much better than my first, but still a bit at eggy tasting...and how do I keep the cake from sinking? It didn't sink bad and I did cool it upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Easy.....Old fashioned goodness! Thanks for the recipe! Our Chickens make this cake so handy to use up our Bounty, and it's a healthier version of cake! ;) Luv!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LookyCooky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This came together beautifully, and baked up wonderfully to a lovely golden brown. Unfortunately this cake has the same cloyingly sweet taste and gummy texture all made-from-scratch angel food cakes seem to have. I made the day before I was going to serve it and ended up making the good ol' Betty Crocker boxed angel food cake in the morning to serve instead. This one will likely end up in the freezer for use in a trifle or something else where it's not the centre of attention and the sweetness can be balanced out or masked a bit. A waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This cake was absolutely delicious, so light and airy and perfectly sweet. I baked in loaf pans and didn't have much trouble with removing the cake (we were prepared to serve from the pan just in case) by running my knife along the edges and having dusted with flour beforehand. I didn't have cake flour or cream of tartar on hand, so I used substitutes for both. I used 1 tablespoon cornstarch and the rest of the 1 cup all purpose flour. I replaced the cream of tartar with lemon juice after searching the internet for a suitable swap. Really, I decided to make the cake so I wouldn't waste leftover egg whites from baking other desserts that called for yolks only. I'm so glad I did, the cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I cut all the ingredients by half (and only used 1/2 cup sugar) and baked these in regular sized muffin pan. The halved recipe made 9 cakes. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes. Turned out perfect. Calories come to 76 per "muffin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe was perfect, great flavor. Make sure you whip the egg whites long enough and FOLD in the flour/sugar gently. This one's going in my box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XASTIEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States