Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made the cupcake version cooking for appx 15 minutes. fun recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Oh my God, this was perfect! Perfect flavor, perfect consistency . . . This was exactly the angelfood cake I wanted to make! Because we don't eat wheat or corn, I'd been despairing over never being able to have an angelfood cake again--the best recipes either called for cake flour, which is made with wheat, or used powdered sugar, which has corn starch in it. The other day I found a technique for making gluten-free cake flour, so I decided to give it a shot. I subbed a mix of white rice flour and arrowroot powder (1 cup minus two tablespoons white rice flour plus two tablespoons arrowroot powder) for the cake flour, and also added 1/2 teaspoon almond extract out of personal preference, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I'm working on a tiramisu recipe, too, so I baked this in a 9 X 13 baking pan to use later as a sub for lady fingers. We ended up eating too much of the cake to use, though, since it was so awesome! The only trouble I had was that the rice flour caused it to brown a little too fast--I had to cover it with foil after 15 minutes to keep the top from burning, and it only took 30 minutes to cook. THANK YOU FOR THE EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is perfect for me because I am lactose intolerant. The cake was light, fluffy and delicious! I cut the recipe and half and almost screwed it up by beating in the dry ingredients instead of folding them in gently, I lost some volume but it still came out amazing. My husband and I ate it plain, we are usually chocolate people but this didn't even need anything extra. Any other beginners give it a shot, its hard to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Best angel food cake I've ever made. I made it for my husbands birthday. He loved it! It is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
WONDERFUL WHOLE FAMILY LIKE IT. VERY SOFT.Idid exactly as the recipe said and covered with whipping cream mixed with icing sugar. vow!tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was pretty good but it was little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Turns out great every time. What I Love about this recipe is that I can have this on my diet and not feel an ounce of guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I used vinegar in lieu of cream of tartar and worked out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
excellent: fluffy, with body, and not sugary sweet and stick-to-your-teeth like the supermarket versions of Angel Food Cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
delicious flavor, but 40-45 minutes was way too long in the oven, the crust was to hard for us to really enjoy it. Next time I will cut the baking time to 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States