Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very yummy but the directions for cooking just under 60 minutes is way off. Next time I might try cooking for just 45-50 minutes. In addition, I did not grease the pan (per the directions) and it was somewhat difficult to remove. I saw a recommendation to use wax paper at the bottom of the pan. I will try it next time I bake this cake. Otherwise, yummy cake just a wee bit dry from the 60 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Followed recipe exactly or so i thought. Put into cold oven and set to 325. In 20 minutes smelled burning and had to take cake out as top was turning black. WHAT DID I DO WRONG?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This cake looks delicious is their anything I can use instead of cream of tartar though? I need to make these into cupcakes by the weekend PLEASE ANSWER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Made this for my dads birthday and he loves angel food cake. Everyone said it's the best they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was excellent! I followed this recipe exactly as written. I really liked the addition of Almond extract. And its supposed to stick to the pan. That way when you invert the cake until cool, it stays in the pan and stays light and fluffy. Use a small spatula to go around the edges to release from the pan. Be gentle, its angel food cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Love this recipe. It makes fantastic Angel Food "Cup"Cakes as well traditional. I've had great luck with removing the cupcakes from the pan. When we don't have strawberries, I love pouring peach coulis on top of it (my recipe is on AllRecipes if you'd like to give it a whirl!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiddleNameGrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was WONDERFUL!!!! I bought egg whites at the store and only sifted it one time. I discovered I need a new sifter. Baked it just 50 minutes and it was WONDERFUL. I served it with strawberries, but think it's better all on it's own. It didn't get very high though, but that sure didn't make any difference to the taste. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Did not turn out very light or fluffy or tasteful. Not one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
THIS is absolutely FANTASTIC....I do not know what THOSE people are talking about who said it turned out awful. I followed the directions to a "T" and it made my husband's birthday cake perfect last week and will make my husband's father day cake even more SPECTACULAR today!!!! The ONLY problem I found was that I ATE THE REST OF THE CAKE THE NEXT DAY because it was sooooo GOOD! AND I am one fussy eater! I like this version with 1 3/4 cups of sugar MUCH better than the version with 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Egg whites and flour NEED the extra sugar to give it that sweet taste. I WILL NEVER ever buy a store bought angel food cake again! My daughter had bought one for this past Memorial Day weekend and I could not eat the cake at all...ended up only eating the fruit placed on top. Three cheers for another recipe added to my recipe box. Thanks again! IT truly TRULY was wonderfu,l and I am indebted to you for a wonderful recipe! Carole in Plano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaroleInDFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Saddle River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Great Angel food cake!!!! It takes a lot of egg whites (I had some in the freezer - took about 9 eggs) but it is totally worth it! Next time I may try it with the carton of egg whites you can buy at the store. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States