Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake is wonderful. I will never go back to store bought angel food cake/box mix again. This is so much better- much more texture and flavor. I used egg whites from a box and added cream of tartar just after the eggs started to get foamy (how I learned to do it). I was worried when mixing the dry and wet that the grainy texture or loss of egg volume would be a disaster but it was perfect. I didnt have a tube pan, just used my bundt cake pan. I cooled it upside down on a beer bottle until it was completely cool and it came out with just a little bit of loosening of the edges with a knife. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This recipe has earned me some major respect amongst my friends. Even gotten helped make some money on the side. I recommend sifting 6 to 7 times if using cake flour. If regular all purpose flour I would sift 12 times. All in all this recipe is a true delicacy that makes any cake in the box be shamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I do a good amount of cooking and baking, but this was my first attempt at making a home-made Angel food cake. There is definitely a huge difference in taste. I followed another reviewers suggestion and lined the cake pan with wax paper, I also used a butter knife to loosen the edges from the pan wall. It turned out absolutely fabulous! I will definitely use this recipe for my Angel Food cakes! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This Cake is Awesome!! Be sure to use a spatula to Gently mix the dry ingred. one cup at a time into the egg white/cream of tarter/vanilla & almond extract. Just until mixed. Line your cake pan of choice with Wax Paper for easy removal and easy cleanup! The first time I made this I used a mixer to add dry ingred. and my cake did not rise. Serve with icing, or Fresh/Frozen Strawberries and Ice Cream! Or Flavored Whipped Cream! Be Creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Have to give it a five - without even tasting it - because it came out looking great even though I used egg whites that said "not recommended for angel food cake/will not whip" (and some didn't) and a bundt pan without the removable bottom! I can only imagine how good it would be if I actually did it right! (But it's hard to imagine how it could be much better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This turned out perfectly, crusty edge and all. I baked it in two 8" pans lined with parchment paper, and that helped them come out of the pan easily (after running a knife around the edge, of course). The bake time with this method was about 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I Loved this angel cake, my husband is hard to please and he ate most of it! Great with fresh fruit and whip cream!!! Loved it, thank you for sharing and it really wasn't that hard to make or that time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I wasn't crazy about this recipe, but I did have to whip it up fast and I'm not the most experienced cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smd133

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used a 9x13 pan, mine was ready in 40 minutes. Also, 1/3 bag Dr. Oetker backing powder is a must, if you don't like to take chances. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States