Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Too much sugar, not enough salt, not enough cream of tartar. Left out the almond, wanted a traditional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter as I usually do whenever I try one for the first time. The cake turned out to be dense but very delicious. It took some time to get it off the tube pan once it cooled down. So glad I placed a wax paper cutout before pouring in the batter and baking. At least I only had to deal with the sides. The kids loved it. They say its the kind of cake that's already quite a dessert even without any frosting or glaze. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe! Super simple and open for some substitute ingredients (in oppose to what some others argue). I used baking power in place of the cream of tarter, only vanilla extract, and about half a cup of brown sugar in place of some of the white sugar- the cake turned out beautiful! Using a bundt pan is recommended by me one hundred percent, and don't be afraid to add some frosting around the top A nonstick bundt pan is the solution for the adhesive nature of the cake. Beginners shouldn't be too scared to do this because it's easy! Piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used gluten free all purpose baking flour instead of reg flour. Came out great. Use frozen strawberries and raspberries mash together and add sugar to taste. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I was looking for a recipe that was not so guilty with added fruit. 3 pts in WW. It was delicious and moist and easy to prepare. I put parchment on bottom for easy release. Will definitely mark as tested and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this twice now, rave reviews both times. I love the almond extract in this one. And I, too, like that it measures egg whites in cups not by how many eggs. In fact, I broke the yolk on the very first egg today, so I was a little short on egg whites. I used the adjust servings feature to make it equal how much I had and it automatically calculated adjusted ingredients to match. Cake turned out perfectly. Even better than the first time, and I was pretty tickled at that one. Two changes - I too started out with a preheated 350 oven, and I did spray the pan with nonstick spray. I ran the knife around the edges and it popped right out. Wish I remembered to take a picture! Served with fresh berries (strawberries, blackberries, blueberries) and sweetened whipped cream. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Made an Angel Food Cake for the first time today and used this recipe. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
It's the BEST One I found I enjoyed from Scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwarner75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious, light, and moist. I followed the advice of another reviewer and made sure not to let any of the egg yolk get in the egg whites. An easy way to remove egg yolk is to put the egg in a bowl, take an empty water bottle, squeeze it and hold the opening on top of the yolk and then unsqueeze it. The yolk will suck into the empty water bottle, separated from the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States