Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is good, but I still prefer the usual recipe my family uses. We all have different tastes, and this is very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake. I didn't have cake flour, so I used 1 cup of ap flour. I ended up using a dozen of eggs for the whites. I took some advice and whipped egg whites to foam, added crm of tartar and then whipped to soft peaks, then mixed in extracts. It rose beautifully, and has a nice light almondy taste to it. Yum! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am not sure I made it right. It did not get as high as a store bought cake mix. It took quite a while for the eggs to fluff. I used Land-0-Lakes egg whites and they were stiff when I started putting in the flour/sugar mix and I did stift that 5 times while the mixer was working on the whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Thank you so much for recipe - I poured over several different suggestions, but opted to try this one (and it was my first time making an AngelFood Cake as well) - worked wonderfully. Was a little *eggy* tasting at first, but that disappeared the following day - maybe that's the way all homemade AF cakes are ?? not sure as I'm a novice here (grin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Five stars. Your recipe shows how easy it is to make angelfood cake! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is an outstanding cake! I made it exactly as written, and it came out perfectly. What I really love about it is that the egg whites are measured by the cup instead of the usual "12 egg whites." I think this really helps to make the cake turn out well every time...egg whites can vary in size. I didn't read the cold oven part, and it was already almost completely preheated by the time the cake went in. Perhaps it was because of this that the cake didn't rise all they way to the top of the pan and get those deliciously crispy cracks...but that was still ok. Next time I make this, I'll be sure to not preheat the oven. I served the cake with whipped cream and strawberries, and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe...it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
10 star recipe!! This is the best angel food cake I have ever tasted! I've been looking for the perfect recipe, and this is it. It is nice and moist with that sugary, slightly crunchy top. When I mixed in the flour mixture it was a just a little bit lumpy, but it turned out great. I used the old fashioned tube pan with the little legs and solid bottom, but it came out perfect. Thank you so much. Now I won't have to test any more angel food cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This cake was incredible! I have tried to make angel food cake on several occasions, and have not been successful. This was a hit by my family, wonderful alone, with coffee, or with some fruit and whipped cream on top. Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was my first attempt, and I used it to make cupcakes, as I have to portion things out in my diet, but it was lovely. Light and fluffy - just what it should be - and so easy! I have a friend who has been put on a low-fat diet due to gall bladder problems, so this is something we can all enjoy. I am going to look into doing a gluten-free version, and I used fructose instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was great. I prefer angel food with my berries and this was hands-down the best I've had. It also provided lots of laughs when my cousin tried to invert the pan on a glass and forgot that it was a two-piece pan. Had it not been for that, it would have been beautiful too. (FYI -- we just used vanilla, no almond and baking time was about 45 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SiggyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States