Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Matt
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This cake was amazing!!!!! Me and my kids loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great cake!!!!! LOL TTYL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "PRIME" works like a charm A REAL BEUTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is the first homemade angle food cake I have ever made. It is great! I followed the recipe exactly even used the cake flour and gentle folded in the dry ingredients. It really is the best cake I made. I don't understand any bad reviews but can only think that our oven temperatures could vary. I could not find my angle food cake pan so used two loaf pans an that worked good. Thank you so much for this recipe. It is in my "recipe box" on all recipes.com. From a mom who does not bake much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Oh man was this cake delicious. Tender, moist (even after 4 days!), soft, not crumbly but not styrofoam like most store bought angel food cakes... It is possibly one of my favorite cakes I've ever made, and I have made quite a few. I followed the portions of the ingredients exactly, but I changed the order a little bit. I beat the egg whites until they were white and foamy, then I added the cream of tartar and flavorings. THEN I beat until stiff peaks formed. I folded the dry ingredients and egg whites together. The cake rose beautifully and the top was a wonderful gold brown. However the top of my cake did not crack like many angel food cakes do. I also let it cool, upside down on a wine bottle, for over an hour. One important note: don't mix in a plastic bowl, and wipe everything you use to make the cake down with a little bit of white vinegar. This will ensure no fat or left over grease gets into your egg whites-- any fat will cause the cake to fall. If you do these things, this recipe come out just wonderfully. I topped it with a shiny dark chocolate glaze, it was decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious angle food cake. I followed the receipe almost exactly (didn't have almond extract and so I substituted amaretto), and the result was a delicious, slightly moist angle food cake that rose nicely. If you are new to baking, the trick may be to gently, a little at a time, sprinkle the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and blend by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Edelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Too much sugar, not enough salt, not enough cream of tartar. Left out the almond, wanted a traditional flavor. Will try a different recipe next time. This one was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter as I usually do whenever I try one for the first time. The cake turned out to be dense but very delicious. It took some time to get it off the tube pan once it cooled down. So glad I placed a wax paper cutout before pouring in the batter and baking. At least I only had to deal with the sides. The kids loved it. They say its the kind of cake that's already quite a dessert even without any frosting or glaze. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe! Super simple and open for some substitute ingredients (in oppose to what some others argue). I used baking power in place of the cream of tarter, only vanilla extract, and about half a cup of brown sugar in place of some of the white sugar- the cake turned out beautiful! Using a bundt pan is recommended by me one hundred percent, and don't be afraid to add some frosting around the top A nonstick bundt pan is the solution for the adhesive nature of the cake. Beginners shouldn't be too scared to do this because it's easy! Piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used gluten free all purpose baking flour instead of reg flour. Came out great. Use frozen strawberries and raspberries mash together and add sugar to taste. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I was looking for a recipe that was not so guilty with added fruit. 3 pts in WW. It was delicious and moist and easy to prepare. I put parchment on bottom for easy release. Will definitely mark as tested and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this twice now, rave reviews both times. I love the almond extract in this one. And I, too, like that it measures egg whites in cups not by how many eggs. In fact, I broke the yolk on the very first egg today, so I was a little short on egg whites. I used the adjust servings feature to make it equal how much I had and it automatically calculated adjusted ingredients to match. Cake turned out perfectly. Even better than the first time, and I was pretty tickled at that one. Two changes - I too started out with a preheated 350 oven, and I did spray the pan with nonstick spray. I ran the knife around the edges and it popped right out. Wish I remembered to take a picture! Served with fresh berries (strawberries, blackberries, blueberries) and sweetened whipped cream. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States