Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This recipe worked fine. It rose up and it was not dry. Something about it just wasn't what we were looking for. I think it is just a matter of taste. My husband and I both rated it 3. Our son gave it a 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
WONDERFUL----I never tried the cold oven method for any cakes and I was very impressed. I have never had an angel food cake rise over the top of the pan and stay quite as high. The texture was light and fluffy and moist, everything an angel food cake should be. The only thing I changed was double the almond as it was to go under pitted sweat cherries and cherry vanilla ice cream. Anyone who had any trouble with this cake must have done one of two things wrong. If the bowl, beater spatula had the smallest greasy film the egg whites will not rise or will be unstable and collapse. Or if the cake is rubbery or tough, the batter was over mixed: better to be lumpy than over beaten or mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Ahearn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very tasty! Be careful not to overwork the batter because it will end up dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. This came out to be the best angel food cake I have made. Not too sweet and it came out of the tube pan perfectly. I did use parchment paper on the bottom as one suggested. Then I used this cake to make a trifle with berries and bananas Looks darn delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Janis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Getting an angel food cake out of the pan is the toughest part, regardless of the recipe. If you baked yours in a bundt cake pan, turn the pan upside down and let the cake “hang” on the neck of a glass bottle for at least 2 hours before you attempt to remove the cake. Should be a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. This was my first attempt at angel food cake that did not come from the store and it was exactly what I expected. I have made it several times over and gotten good results every time**note: do not use cupcake liners if making cupcakes out of this recipe. They will stick and half of your cake will end up on the wrapper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe turned out excellent. I did not have any cream of tartar, but I used baking powder instead. It turned out moist, fluffy, and way better than what you get at the store. I ended up using 10 egg whites for the 1.5 cups required for the recipe. I topped it with strawberries and vanilla greek yougurt, yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
So easy to make when you simply have to buy eggwhites in a container... I love angel food cake. This recipe is so easy to make and much tastier than the "box" version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I followed everything in this recipe: sifting five times, using cake flour, putting the cake in the cold oven... nope. The cake came out of the pan fine for me, but it did not rise very much and it was chewy and rubbery. I tried to get some moisture into it with a strawberry glaze and whipped cream, and that made it okay. Waste of time, effort, and money. I would have been better off buying angel food cake from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Photo by Joiedevie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I Added my own Spin to it! I used Meyer Lemon and Key Lime zest in the flour. I also used the juice of the two fruits. Glazed it with zest , juice and poedered sugar. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joiedevie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States