Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ashleymarie856
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I followed everything in this recipe: sifting five times, using cake flour, putting the cake in the cold oven... nope. The cake came out of the pan fine for me, but it did not rise very much and it was chewy and rubbery. I tried to get some moisture into it with a strawberry glaze and whipped cream, and that made it okay. Waste of time, effort, and money. I would have been better off buying angel food cake from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleymarie856

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Photo by Joiedevie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I Added my own Spin to it! I used Meyer Lemon and Key Lime zest in the flour. I also used the juice of the two fruits. Glazed it with zest , juice and poedered sugar. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joiedevie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Thought it was a great little recipe. Made it once thought it came out just fine. Second time I added some chopped maraschino cherries and grated semi-sweet bakers chocolate. As far as getting the cake out I like to cool my cake up side down on top of an old empty champagne or wine bottle, then give it a good whack on a towel covered wooden cutting board, does the trick for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I had a ton of leftover egg whites from making a cookie recipe (that called for 16 egg yolks!), so I decided to finally try my hand at making angel food cake from scratch. I'm so glad we tried this one! The recipe worked beautifully. I did make a special trip to the store for cake flour. I sifted the dry ingredients 5 times. I carefully folded dry ingredients into wet (yes, it did eventually combine with this gentle stirring). I started it in a cold oven. In making the recipe as is, it came out beautifully. The almond extract was just the right amount for our family. The "crunchy" bits were especially yummy (waaaaay better than storebought cakes!). This one is a keeper and my kids and dh are begging me to make this as often as the whim hits. I admit, I put off trying this for so many years because I was really intimidated based on reports that angel food cake was just too hard, but this recipe made it flawless. I also appreciated reading the tips below. Now I have friends begging me to tell them how to succeed in making angel food cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The batter from a boxed angel food cake tastes gross before it's baked. The batter from this recipe tastes much better. The cake turned out light and moist. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Have tried to make angel food cake in the past with poor results. This one turned out perfect. Got rave reviews from my family. Will make this one many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Definitely a family favorite! I'll be making this often, upon request, I'm sure. Mine didn't stick at all, after completely cooling in the pan (a one-piece pan.) So MUCH better tasting than store-bought too! Of course it is! Isn't everything if it's made correctly?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
super great...just be sure to cook higher up in the oven for fluffy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Age

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jfree52
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome Cake! Even without using powdered sugar. Mine tasted almost like cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfree52

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!! Didn't change a thing. It was a wonderful hit for the 4th of July. I used it with a strawberry tunnel cake recipe and made from scratch whipped cream. I decorated it with blueberries and strawberries to give it that true patriotic effect. I will never buy angel food cake from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States