Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I wasn't crazy about the texture of this cake, but the flavor was very good. Mine turned out a little dense/tough, but that might have been because I used all-purpose flour plus cornstarch as a cake flour substitute. I did sift 5 times as instructed and tried to fold the dry ingredients as gently as possible, but perhaps I just overworked it. With fresh berries and some cool whip, it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this cake today to be used in a fruit trifle. I'm not devastated by the outcome since it will be cubed and mixed with other ingredients, but generally speaking it was a flop. I used splenda blend and carton egg whites, both which could have had a direct impact on the final results. The egg whites never formed stiff peaks - even after mixing for about 15 minutes, however they formed soft peaks. I baked the cake in a bundt pan (a quality non-stick) and I used a rubber spatula to loosen the edges - the cake came out of the pan perfectly. The flavor is good, it's just very dense. Closer to a pound cake. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This wasn't a very fluffy angel food cake, but the taste and texture were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Top notch. Not sure what the others problems were with it. Worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Turned out beautifully!!!!!! I followed the advice about the parchment paper ,and had no trouble at all getting it out of the pan. A new familly favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Fantastic and so easy, I've never made a cake from scratch and this was a huge success. I don't have a sifter so I mixed the dry ingredients with a whisk for several minutes. I also used regular flour...I'll buy the cake flour next time to see if it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love this recipe. I only make this recipe for angel food cake. I dont use cake flour I use 1 cup all purpose flour. You all so can add any kind of jello for a different flavor and it adds color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I can't believe how easy this was to make. And It was so good....so much better then you can buy in the store. Nice and fluffy on the inside and a little brown crisp on the top...awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This looks great, has anyone tried it with Splenda or half the sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This came out perfectly!! I was so excited since I had read reviews that said it could be a challenge. Very yummy almond flavoring- Will NEVER buy store "sponge" again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States