Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is an outstanding cake! I made it exactly as written, and it came out perfectly. What I really love about it is that the egg whites are measured by the cup instead of the usual "12 egg whites." I think this really helps to make the cake turn out well every time...egg whites can vary in size. I didn't read the cold oven part, and it was already almost completely preheated by the time the cake went in. Perhaps it was because of this that the cake didn't rise all they way to the top of the pan and get those deliciously crispy cracks...but that was still ok. Next time I make this, I'll be sure to not preheat the oven. I served the cake with whipped cream and strawberries, and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe...it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
10 star recipe!! This is the best angel food cake I have ever tasted! I've been looking for the perfect recipe, and this is it. It is nice and moist with that sugary, slightly crunchy top. When I mixed in the flour mixture it was a just a little bit lumpy, but it turned out great. I used the old fashioned tube pan with the little legs and solid bottom, but it came out perfect. Thank you so much. Now I won't have to test any more angel food cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This cake was incredible! I have tried to make angel food cake on several occasions, and have not been successful. This was a hit by my family, wonderful alone, with coffee, or with some fruit and whipped cream on top. Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was my first attempt, and I used it to make cupcakes, as I have to portion things out in my diet, but it was lovely. Light and fluffy - just what it should be - and so easy! I have a friend who has been put on a low-fat diet due to gall bladder problems, so this is something we can all enjoy. I am going to look into doing a gluten-free version, and I used fructose instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was great. I prefer angel food with my berries and this was hands-down the best I've had. It also provided lots of laughs when my cousin tried to invert the pan on a glass and forgot that it was a two-piece pan. Had it not been for that, it would have been beautiful too. (FYI -- we just used vanilla, no almond and baking time was about 45 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SiggyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this recipe last night for my Husband's birthday. The cake tasted wonderful. It was light and fluffy. I substituted extra vanilla for the almond extract due to personal preference. It was wonderful. I added a thin chocolate icing to the cake and it tasted heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I was unable to eat the cake, and my friends and family are always raving about my cooking and baking. Try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe came out PERFECTLY. I didn't change a thing, just cheated a little and bought cartoned egg whites. I sell baked goods at a market and this one in 'cupcake' form and as a whole cake sells faster than I can make it. Try putting fresh strawberries and strawberry syrup on top and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRocket

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
WONDERFUL cake! I made it for 4th of July for a neighborhood party and everyone loved it! I reccomend you make sure you have at least 12 eggs for this cake though. Great with any fresh berries and whipped cream (I colored the whipped cream so it would be patriotic :-) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara-is-a-CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe, I can see this becoming a family favorite in our house. Although, I would dial back the almond extract a bit, perhaps 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States