Angel Cake Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great light dessert. I love that I can really just used whatever fruit I have on hand at the time and you can never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Awesome...I did make slight changes because I needed the base ingredients/recipe to replicate a similar dish I had at a party on the weekend. I used all of the amounts called for and used everything as I was supposed to except I switched out the fruit and the type of gelatin. I used a peach flavoured gelatin and kept the can of sliced peaches but added a can of fruit cocktail in place of the fresh bananas and pineapple. Still really tasty!!! I also used fat-free or light pudding, gelatin, and whipped topping. Yumm-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was a great dessert. I didnt add the peaches and replaced them with sliced strawberries. I did add the crushed pineapple and next time I may leave them out because I didnt prefer the texture they gave to it. Overall this was a great light & tasty dessert. It makes a large portion! Great for family gatherings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Photo by ksvona
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I just took the angel food cake mix and mixed it with lemon pudding and raspberries and lemon lime soda instead of water. For the frosting I used cool whip and raspberry yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksvona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I also Used strawberries instead of peaches. Super good! My kids LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I made this for my Mom on her birthday and it was beautiful to look at and tasted wonderful! The entire family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWeirick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Very easy and very good! I followed the directions exactly except I used a can of strawberry pie filling instead of the peaches. I had no problems with it being watery. This is a great potluck dish and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very yummy! Refreshing dessert that would be great served on a warm day. I used Strawberries and bananas over the peaches and Pineapple. I think you could use just about any fruit really. Raspberries and blueberries will be my choice for next time. I used frozen strawberries so there wasn't a lot of extra juice which made the angel food cake stay fluffy. Wasn't great for left over as it does get soggy over time. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
What a fabulous, refreshing and easy dessert! I made my angel food cake from a box cake mix and subbed in a pint of fresh sliced strawberries, per other reviewers' recommendations. To prevent the bananas from browning, I soaked them in the pineapple juice (from the can I drained for this recipe) and then removed them from the juice with a slotted spoon before layering them in the dessert. I also used skim milk for the instant pudding to make this a little more diet friendly. Everyone loved it-I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Such a great summer dessert. My family and friends liked it, I thought it was delicious. Easy to make, though the prep time took me way longer than the recipe said. Make sure you use HOT water to dissolve the gelatin. Also, the sliced peaches I bought were sliced really thick, making it hard to spread the pudding and Cool Whip over the top, but I managed :)I forgot to put the crushed pineapple over the peaches, so I improvised and just layered them over the pudding. Worked out fine. Cut into squares, getting them out of the dish nice and clean was a task, the bottom layer wants to stick to it. Garnished squares with sliced strawberries and mint leaves. Scrumptious! Note: make sure to serve ASAP because the layer of bananas gets an icky brown! I tossed mine in lemon juice even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States