Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
light and fluffy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe is sooooo good! Follow the advice of previous reviewers and place your biscuits close together on the pan to rise. My husband has been requesting these often. He can hardly wait for them to rise and bake. My kids have used a whole bottle of honey eating them with butter and honey. Ummmmm! Thanks you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
These turned out pretty good, but I thought they were a little on the dry side, and could have been more flavorful. They were really pretty though, and not too difficult. I used half shortening and half butter. They did not rise much, but then I set them on top of my stove while my oven was on (the oven is older and gets hot to the touch on the outside when in use) and they rose quite well- seems they need to be in a VERY warm, almost hot spot to rise. I had to add a bit more flour than was called for because the dough was incredibly sticky and impossible to knead when I turned it out of the bowl. Still they got demolished when I served them for Easter. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
The flavor was outstanding, the texture was more of a hockey puck...I must of did something wrong. Tried these during the Christmas holiday's and again during Easter...and the same result. Sorry...don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The Angel biscuit II was light and easy to make, but it didn't have a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
excellent biscuit recipe!! I love that they are not a dry biscuit. They do not rise a whole lot, but they are still great tasting.Using a rapid rise yeast, rather than regular yeast, gives them a little extra lift. I also took the advice of another reviewer and did 1/2 shortening, 1/2 margerine (or butter)...for taste purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Absolutely perfect foundation biscuit. If you want to make it a cheesy garlic biscuit, add garlic powder and finely shredded cheddar. This is also excellent for the freezer--just wrap well in foil...it should keep for up to a month just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
These bicuits are awesome! My husband raved and raved about these. They are so light and fluffy. The only biscuits I'll ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I really liked this recipe. The yeast really makes a difference in creating a light and fluffy biscuit. After seeing some of the reviews complaining of lack of flavor, I opted to use half shortening and half unsalted butter...a suggestion I highly recommend. I also chilled the dough overnight. This may also help those who had difficulty with a too soft/wet dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These are truly delicious. Great texture, good keepers if frozen and rewarmed well wrapped. Mine rose beautifully, my suggestion to others who have had difficulty is to make sure your yeast and other leavenings are absolutely fresh, and don't kill the yeast. Also, warm the buttermilk slightly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States