Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Although these were not what I was specifically looking for, these turned out fluffy and tender. Not heavy at all. The dough will be a bit soft and sticky to work with, but not terrible to work with by any means. I omitted 1/2 cup flour and used that plus about 1/4 cup extra on my surface for kneading so I would not get a dough that was too stiff. (I did not knead all of it into the dough though, just enough to make it easy to handle.) I opted for half salted butter and half shortening in the recipe. I rolled the dough out and squared it up and then used a pizza cutter to cut into squares. (I think squares taste the same as circles but are much faster, lol) I brushed the tops with melted butter and then let them rise per the directions. I baked them on parchment on a brownie sheet. The timing was just right for my oven and elevation. I really enjoyed these and so did my family. For some reason the guests were not finishing them? Are biscuit people like brownie and chocolate chip cookie people? Just one particular one is what they want? Our kids really enjoy exploring new flavors and foods so maybe I am just lucky for that. Definitely worth trying. The four stars is because they were not received well by the guests. A five star recipe is when the guests leave the table with the plates cleaned and wanting more. Thanks for the recipe, will keep it in my recipe box for when I want this type of fluffy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roscoe, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
OKay, so my only complain with these is they didn't rise once in the oven. I let them set and rise for an hr... they doubled in size. I brushed butter on the tops before popping them in the oven. This seemed to flatten them down and bit. I figured they would puff up once baked but NOPE! They ended up being pretty thin. Although, they tasted good... not great....I wasn't thrilled with this one but good none the less. It made a ton so I put a bunch in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is by far my favorite biscuit recipe, and I've tried others without the success I have with this one. Last night I added crumbled cheddar cheese to the dough and brushed the biscuits with a mixture of garlic powder, butter, and parsley flakes before and after baking. This recipe will make "to die for" Cheddar Bay Biscuits! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are a keeper for us! So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was not as light as I thought they would be, maybe my flour was a little old, but I have to give it only 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have never made biscuits before but I have had angel biscuits and these were not the same as I have had. I don't know what I did wrong but these were not light and airy as I have read but they were not bad or not great...just ok for the most part tasted like a can biscuit without the height...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was my first biscuit making adventure, and it got quite messy! But it was, I'm happy to say, a success. I made it to go along with gravy, that my poor boyfriend has been waiting a year for me to make, because biscuits and gravy are his favorite breakfast. I had to compete with his grandma's! I'm very happy to say that not only was he thrilled to finally get his breakfast of choice, but that he said they were just like his grandmas and he thought I was an angel after making these, so this recipe really earned its name! :-) However, I've since found a drop bisuit recipe that is MUCH easier and just as heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Even with the substitutions I made these were amazing. I substituted 1c buttermilk with sour cream and half the shortening with butter, just due to what I had on hand. They were light and flaky and gone in a flash. The kids begged and finished their chicken just to have another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelonieF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Eating these biscuits piping hot is really heavenly. In fact, I filled up on biscuits and didn't eat the rest of my meal. The downside: long prep time and they don't reheat well. The recipe makes a lot. Even when I baked these in Bogota, Colombia (elevation 8,661 feet compared to Denver's mere 5380 feet) and they didn't raise properly, they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I have never been a fan of baking powder biscuits but my husband loves them. These are just wonderful, I can now make biscuits that I can also enjoy. I took another reviewers advice and warmed the milk but other than that, Just Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States