Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Warning: If you have a hard time eating "just one" then don't make this recipe! If my family wasn't here to gobble these things up, I'd have eaten the whole batch myself. They are THAT good! I didn't have shortening so used butter instead. Not sure if that made them better or worse…but I will be doing it that way from now on because of the great results. My aunt gave me an old recipe from a 90 yr old lady from her church. It's almost exact to this one, except you can refrigerate the dough for up to 2 weeks, punching down daily & use as needed. Then form by hand, put in cold oven, set it at 400, then when it reaches full heat, turn to 425. I'm going to try it with this one since the ingredients are alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I never rate recipes, but I had to with this one. I have been looking for a perfect biscuit recipe for ten years. Every one I try comes out like a hockey puck. These were amazing! My search is over! I used 6 Tbs. Butter and 6 Tbs. Cisco. 2 c. Bread flour and 3 c. All - purpose. Make sure they are lightly touching, and don't handle the dough too much. Light and fluffy, and I didn't notice the yeast taste that others commented on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Well, I must agree with another rater, these biscuits didn't rise. Tried putting them in a warm oven but it didn't really help. However,they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Wow! I managed to completely mess up the construction of the biscuit (why I added the milk/yeast before cutting in the butter, I have no idea. Not enough coffee)yet they still turned out wonderfully. The only other change I mad was using almond milk. I highly recommend giving this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
awe-some!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Shepard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good biscuits. For the record, I halved the recipe, used the correct size cutter, and ended up with 24 biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
These biscuits were amazing! I am SO Glad I gave them a try. I was worried about finding a "warm" non-drafty place to put them & preheated the oven on warm" & turned it off & it worked out great. These were light & fluffy. I will make these again for sure! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I just made the biscuits and followed the recipe exactly as it is written. These biscuits are AMAZING!!! Follow this recipe as it is written and your final product will be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My family loved these biscuits. I am know for my hockey puc biscuits and am a seasoned cook...but still am never able to make good fluffy biscuits, no matter what recipe I try. My son said "I hope u saved the recipe, because these are the best biscuits you have ever made...pleae don't make any other kind" With a compliment like that, you know I will never make any others. I did use 3 cups of white whole wheat flour and 2 cups of AP flour instead of all white flour. I also used butter instead of shortening. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States