Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
OKay, so my only complain with these is they didn't rise once in the oven. I let them set and rise for an hr... they doubled in size. I brushed butter on the tops before popping them in the oven. This seemed to flatten them down and bit. I figured they would puff up once baked but NOPE! They ended up being pretty thin. Although, they tasted good... not great....I wasn't thrilled with this one but good none the less. It made a ton so I put a bunch in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is by far my favorite biscuit recipe, and I've tried others without the success I have with this one. Last night I added crumbled cheddar cheese to the dough and brushed the biscuits with a mixture of garlic powder, butter, and parsley flakes before and after baking. This recipe will make "to die for" Cheddar Bay Biscuits! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are a keeper for us! So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was not as light as I thought they would be, maybe my flour was a little old, but I have to give it only 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have never made biscuits before but I have had angel biscuits and these were not the same as I have had. I don't know what I did wrong but these were not light and airy as I have read but they were not bad or not great...just ok for the most part tasted like a can biscuit without the height...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was my first biscuit making adventure, and it got quite messy! But it was, I'm happy to say, a success. I made it to go along with gravy, that my poor boyfriend has been waiting a year for me to make, because biscuits and gravy are his favorite breakfast. I had to compete with his grandma's! I'm very happy to say that not only was he thrilled to finally get his breakfast of choice, but that he said they were just like his grandmas and he thought I was an angel after making these, so this recipe really earned its name! :-) However, I've since found a drop bisuit recipe that is MUCH easier and just as heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Even with the substitutions I made these were amazing. I substituted 1c buttermilk with sour cream and half the shortening with butter, just due to what I had on hand. They were light and flaky and gone in a flash. The kids begged and finished their chicken just to have another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelonieF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Eating these biscuits piping hot is really heavenly. In fact, I filled up on biscuits and didn't eat the rest of my meal. The downside: long prep time and they don't reheat well. The recipe makes a lot. Even when I baked these in Bogota, Colombia (elevation 8,661 feet compared to Denver's mere 5380 feet) and they didn't raise properly, they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I have never been a fan of baking powder biscuits but my husband loves them. These are just wonderful, I can now make biscuits that I can also enjoy. I took another reviewers advice and warmed the milk but other than that, Just Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These were good, but a little odd. They tasted more biscuit than roll, but with a consistency of rolls that had rose-then fell. VERY easy to make, came out just like the picture. Okay with butter and honey, but I don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States