Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Just made these to see if they would be good enough to use as ham biscuits for a gathering. They are wonderful! I didn't have butter so I used 1/4 cup crisco and 1/2 cup butter crisco (what I had on hand). I sampled them with my son and he couldn't stop "mmmm"ing!! I did use the 200 degree warm oven rising method. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These did not rise as much as I was hoping for but the flavor was perfect, texture amazing and these also freeze and reheat really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These were so simple to make and they turned out perfect! I also used butter. Easy recipe with delicious results. What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Oh my, now these are my kind of biscuits. I halved the recipe and made 12 nice size biscuits. Just patted the dough out and cut out 12 squares, that way there is no wasted dough. I used all butter for the shortening, and that gave it that awesome buttery flavor. These are so tender yet hold up to creamy sausage gravy. I will be making these from now on, so easy yet soooo delicious. These certainly remind me of the Hardy's biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
You can also refrigerate the dough. I use it for weiner wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These turned out pretty good. They made a ton, I halved the recipe and still got over 25 small biscuits. Next time I won't roll the dough out as thin, maybe they will rise a bit higher that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I used 2 pk of yeast and added 1 tbsp of suagar to the yeast... then I followed the instructions as is.. These were the best homemade biscuits I have every had and they tasted as good as KFC... nice and fluffy and soft ... my kids loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These were very good. I took the advice of another reviewer and preheated the oven to 200 degrees, turned it off and let the biscuits rise for one hour. I also cut the shorting to 1/2 cup total and used 1/4 cup of Crisco and 1/4 cup of butter. The problem was that I put all 24 on one baking sheet and they all ran together and the round biscuits took on the shape of the baking sheet and became square. It certainly didn't hurt the taste and could still be separated. However, you might want to space them out a tiny bit more. A very good recipe and I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austinville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! I moved from Cali to Texas and have never heard of angel biscuits, however I'm glad I stumbled across them! I didn't let them rise (I hate reading directions), but I still got a good oven-spring and my excessively picky 3 year old loves them! Definitely better than Grands any time! I used butter instead of shortening (limited to what I had on hand) and I added extra salt and one more tbsp of sugar. Perfection! Thanks for posting! I think I will try to add cheddar and garlic to them to make some cheddar bay biscuits as another reviewer suggested. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Maybe they would have risen higher if I'd warmed the milk as the other reviewer suggested. Good flavor and color but not the rise I like from my biscuits. A cross between a bread and a biscuit as far as texture. I'll stick with either a regular biscuit recipe or a roll recipe. When I make biscuits, I want them to come out like biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States