Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
You can also refrigerate the dough. I use it for weiner wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These turned out pretty good. They made a ton, I halved the recipe and still got over 25 small biscuits. Next time I won't roll the dough out as thin, maybe they will rise a bit higher that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I used 2 pk of yeast and added 1 tbsp of suagar to the yeast... then I followed the instructions as is.. These were the best homemade biscuits I have every had and they tasted as good as KFC... nice and fluffy and soft ... my kids loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These were very good. I took the advice of another reviewer and preheated the oven to 200 degrees, turned it off and let the biscuits rise for one hour. I also cut the shorting to 1/2 cup total and used 1/4 cup of Crisco and 1/4 cup of butter. The problem was that I put all 24 on one baking sheet and they all ran together and the round biscuits took on the shape of the baking sheet and became square. It certainly didn't hurt the taste and could still be separated. However, you might want to space them out a tiny bit more. A very good recipe and I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austinville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! I moved from Cali to Texas and have never heard of angel biscuits, however I'm glad I stumbled across them! I didn't let them rise (I hate reading directions), but I still got a good oven-spring and my excessively picky 3 year old loves them! Definitely better than Grands any time! I used butter instead of shortening (limited to what I had on hand) and I added extra salt and one more tbsp of sugar. Perfection! Thanks for posting! I think I will try to add cheddar and garlic to them to make some cheddar bay biscuits as another reviewer suggested. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Maybe they would have risen higher if I'd warmed the milk as the other reviewer suggested. Good flavor and color but not the rise I like from my biscuits. A cross between a bread and a biscuit as far as texture. I'll stick with either a regular biscuit recipe or a roll recipe. When I make biscuits, I want them to come out like biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I have used one like it for years which my Aunt Jean gave me. It makes wonderful biscuits, but I also use it to make cinnamon bread, cinnamon rolls, and Christmas tree bread, with the candied fruit and nuts in it. It is wonderful, makes a lot and everyone loves anything I make from it. Plus, it is FAST to work with! Thank you, Karin for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Although these were not what I was specifically looking for, these turned out fluffy and tender. Not heavy at all. The dough will be a bit soft and sticky to work with, but not terrible to work with by any means. I omitted 1/2 cup flour and used that plus about 1/4 cup extra on my surface for kneading so I would not get a dough that was too stiff. (I did not knead all of it into the dough though, just enough to make it easy to handle.) I opted for half salted butter and half shortening in the recipe. I rolled the dough out and squared it up and then used a pizza cutter to cut into squares. (I think squares taste the same as circles but are much faster, lol) I brushed the tops with melted butter and then let them rise per the directions. I baked them on parchment on a brownie sheet. The timing was just right for my oven and elevation. I really enjoyed these and so did my family. For some reason the guests were not finishing them? Are biscuit people like brownie and chocolate chip cookie people? Just one particular one is what they want? Our kids really enjoy exploring new flavors and foods so maybe I am just lucky for that. Definitely worth trying. The four stars is because they were not received well by the guests. A five star recipe is when the guests leave the table with the plates cleaned and wanting more. Thanks for the recipe, will keep it in my recipe box for when I want this type of fluffy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roscoe, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
OKay, so my only complain with these is they didn't rise once in the oven. I let them set and rise for an hr... they doubled in size. I brushed butter on the tops before popping them in the oven. This seemed to flatten them down and bit. I figured they would puff up once baked but NOPE! They ended up being pretty thin. Although, they tasted good... not great....I wasn't thrilled with this one but good none the less. It made a ton so I put a bunch in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is by far my favorite biscuit recipe, and I've tried others without the success I have with this one. Last night I added crumbled cheddar cheese to the dough and brushed the biscuits with a mixture of garlic powder, butter, and parsley flakes before and after baking. This recipe will make "to die for" Cheddar Bay Biscuits! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States