Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
One reviewer mentioned that the dough was like gloop, and it is, but this gloopy dough makes great biscuits. In fact the best I've ever made. I wasn't real sure what to do about the shortening - it says to mix it in, but after adding liquid, in order to "mix" it in, it would have to be melted and the recipe didn't call for that. I just used half a stick of unsalted butter and half a cup of shortening and cut it into the flour mixture BEFORE adding the yeast water and buttermilk, like a traditional biscuit recipe. One thing I would have done differently is warm the milk up a bit, cold liquids tend to shock the yeast. I also would have placed these biscuits closer together. They spread out a lot but were still fluffy. I scooped the "gloopy" dough onto a liberally floured surface, liberally sprinkled more flour on top and pressed the dough out gently with my hands. I cut the biscuits out of that and transferred them quickly to the sheet, since they are very pliable. These were great. Someone mentioned more salt, I suggest using margarine or salted butter to brush the tops of them when they come out, seems to add the perfect touch. Perfect for eating with honey too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
very good but they needed a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
These were very good and easy to make. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I wasnt sure if I was doing it right because it ended up so sticky, so I put the batter in muffin tins, and it worked out great! I used more butter than it called for, but I'm a butter fanatic. These biscuits were very easy to make. *EDIT* Well it's been a while since I first made these, but it's my #1 biscuit recipe. I always use butter instead of shortening because I just dont like shortending. It gives these biscuit rolls an excellent buttery flavor! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
The biscuits were big and fluffy. I've tried to make biscuits before and they never came out, so I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
we needed to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for, but they turned out great once we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
My family loves these biscuits. There are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
The dough is like gloop. It doesn't resemble bread dough or biscuit dough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States