Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These are AWESOME...simple, easy and delicious...perfect for busy families! Love the light texture without all the work of traditional yeast rolls. The flavor is improved with a touch more salt and subbing butter for half the shortening. I cut the butter/shortening mix into the dough with a pastry blender, then added the warmed buttermilk. The DOUGH IS VERY STICKY, but don't be put off by this...it's the stickiness that puts the "roll" in biscuit rolls. Seems chilling makes the dough a bit easier to work with. My family loves these biscuits...they go so nicely with just about anything you might serve and are a big hit at breakfast. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Absolutely wonderful, incredibly simple. Dough is a bit too wet. I decreased the buttermilk a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMX6BOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
great recipe! next time I will add 1/2 teaspoon more salt, that's it. it's a keeper to me!! we will have some tonight with gravy and country fried steak. I will probably freeze 1/2 of these for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usapeach58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very Good! My husband is hard to please especially with bisquits, and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My family loved these biscuits. I used the ingredients as written but I prepared them a little different. First, cut in the shortening before you add the buttermilk and yeast mixture. Also, warm the buttermilk before you add it. It says it does not need to rest, which may be true, but you will get a lighter biscuit if you allow it to rise, covered in a draft-free place for at least 30 minutes. I allowed mine to rise for 45 minutes. Make sure you place your biscuits slightly touching so they rise in the oven nicely. I also brushed them with melted, salted butter right after they came out of the oven. They turned out wonderful. They also freeze very well. To freeze, before the rise time, put some bisuits on a cookie sheet lined with wax or parchment paper for about 30 minutes. When frozen, store in freezer bags. Whenever you want biscuits for dinner, take out however many you want an hour before baking, then bake at 400* for 10 to 12 minutes. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
great and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Hm, these weren't quite what I expected. Not bad, just not great either. Bisquick biscuits would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My family loves these biscuits, and they are our favorites. I like them because they are very fast, and make a lot. I usually freeze the extras. I use my kitchenaid mixer to mix all the dry, then mix in very soft butter (instead of shortening), then the yeast and the buttermilk. The dough is really sticky, so I always add a bit of flour and then they are perfect. I also use 3 cups white flour, 1 1/2 cups whole wheat and a 1/2 cup oat flour (just grind whole oats in your blender). This makes them a bit healthier and we like the more hearty flavor. They are still very fluffy even with whole grains, and even if you mix like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
i took away all stars for the problems with the way the original recipe is written. this can not be ready in the time listed as it is IMPERATIVE to chill the dough. i did not and it was such sticky mess that i had to keep adding flour just to shape the biscuits. the additional flour definitely ruined the flakiness. also as noted by others, the buttermilk needs to be slightly warm or it will the yeast action. i doubt if i will try this again, even though i found the problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These are very good right out of the oven, but they don't keep long. They were very dry the next day after being kept in a zipper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States