Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
this was great, I made extra and put chocolate in some and rasberries in the other. i made them into dessert pocket. my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Love angel biscuits! Here's a yummy thing I do with leftover dough: roll it out into a rectangle, smear on lots of butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. Roll up the dough. Cut into rolls and bake for delicious cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
If you are using melted butter/margarine, that is why your dough is too soft. I cut mine into the dry ingredients and the dough was a little soft, but perfect fot biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is the easiest and best dough I have ever worked with. Following advice in the ratings section, I used: 1 cup butter mixed into the dry ingredients with dough hooks on a portable mixer; cut down the amount of buttermilk/milk from 16 oz. to 14 oz.; and did not add any more flour. Because of time constraints I had to refrigerate the dough overnight. The next day it was so easy to roll out and cut (on a silicon sheet) and transfer to the baking pan. It took less than half the time I alotted. The only discrepancy was that it made 40 rolls instead of 24. [My cutter is 2 5/8" (6.5 cm) diameter.] The taste and texture were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Loved this recipe. I do think there are some things you should know about biscuit making if this this your first time making biscuits. 1. Definitely cut the shortening into the dry ingredients before adding the buttermilk and yeast. 2. I took the advice of other reviewers and warmed the buttermilk before adding. 3. If you get the "goopy" dough that other reviewers mentioned, try putting in in the fridge covered for a little bit. Now when I made this, I didn't think the dough was goopy--a bit sticky, yes. I wanted to make these later in the day so I did put in the fridge. When I was ready to make, I just put a generous amount of flour on my bread board and worked gave it a gentle knead (be careful to over work the dough). I loved the feel of the dough and it was quite light. Biscuits turned out great but I probably will make with all butter (I made it with half butter and half shortening) and will definitely add more salt to boost up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have been making these biscuits for years. As soon as I add the shortening, I get in there with my hands and rub the shortening into the flour by rubbing my hands together. I count off 37 seconds ( a little trick I got from Alton Brown). It is true what they have been saying as far as the dough being 'gloppy'. As soon as the dough looks mixed together, I pour the mixture into a zip lock bag and snip the corner off like a pastry bag. I then squeeze biscuit sized portions onto a greased pan and bake. Works perfect every time. The old 'biscuit rule' applies here - You want to handle biscuits as little as possible. Another nice thing about the zip lock method is that you can squeeze out as much as you like and then put the bag back in the fridge for fresh biscuits another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I just finished making these biscuit/rolls and are not that impressed with them. The flavor is good for a biscuit and it is moist, but mine are more heavy than fluffy. They did not rise in the oven hardly at all. I know my baking powder and yeast are good because I have been using them. That being said, they did taste pretty good with butter and honey and I am sure will go great with the stew I am making, but I was somewhat disappointed in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Although a bit messy, these rolls turned out perfectly!! I will definitely be making again! THxs for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I cook A LOT and this recipe was not good. My end result turned out delicious, but inly because I made some MAJOR changes to the recipe. As it is written, there is way too much liquid. I had to add 1 1/2 cups more flour to make it workable. Also, the fat needs to be cut into the flour like a regular biscuit and then the liquid added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DawnieB
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Love these biscuits! Light and fluffy. I do add 1/2 to 1 cup extra flour, but also extra salt. The dough is VERY soft. I pat it into a large baking sheet and score into square biscuits. A friend shared this recipe; she mixes it up and stores in the fridge. I have subbed canola oil or butter for the shortening, or milk soured with vinegar or lemon juice for the buttermilk, and the biscuits are still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States