Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight and everyone loved it!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this with a large Pork Shoulder (7lbs) and doubled up on everything except the onion. I also added cumin and garlic as others suggested. This had a great flavor but was a little greasy, probably because I used such a large pork shoulder. I will make this again but use a smaller roast, trim all the fat, and cube up the meat before putting in the crokpot. I expect that the results will then be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The dish was very tasty and flavorful. I will definitely make it again in the near future. The changes I made are the following: 1. I used home-made green salsa that I prepared following the recipe from this site. Knowing I will do more stewing, I didn't puree it. I just added meat directly in it after the sauce was ready. 2. I used pork loin instead of pork shoulder to reduce fat. 3. I cooked on a stove top in a heavy sauce pan for less than 2 hours. 4. I didn't add any additional chiles, as the salsa was very hot already. 5. I service the meat with lots of sauce on top of steamed rice. The sauce was so good, I didn't want to waste it. I even added bottled green salsa (Arriba! brand, with great fire-roasted flavor) Next time around, I will probably not make green salsa separately - I will brown the meat first, and add chopped chiles, tomatillos, onions along with water, just to make a stew. I also like to try this with other kinds of meat and maybe fish, too. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
AWESOME!!! I didnt use the peppers b/c I didnt want it too spicy but it was sooo good...And it smelled wonderful cooking it was so hard to stay away from it!! I froze alot of it and used some for tacos the next day and then made enchiladas with the remaining a few days later...Can I say it again, AWESOME...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wonderful flavor! I did use jalapenos instead of serrano peppers because I was concerned about it being too much heat. It turned out perfect for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This makes awesome tacos, added sweet basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was Great!!The kids loved it.I just stuck with the recipe and didnt change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
It doesn't get easier or more tasty than this. I would probably add a few peeled cloves of garlic to the pot, but that's just my preference. This recipe is great "as is". Thanks Andy. The guys are going to love this recipe for their hunting trips. I'm going to love at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
It would be better shredded and mixed with fresh cilantro and salsa than just the cooked stuff. Good served with warm corn tortillas and a wedge of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States