Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The meat was flavorless and the sauce wasn't that good, which is surprising since I used my favorite green salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very yummy. And easy. What more could you ask for? I've cooked this a few times now, and these are the changes I've made. I cut the meat into large chunks and brown it first. Then I brown the onions with some chopped garlic. I cook in my digital pressure cooker with the meat on the bottom, and the salsa and onion on top. I add 1.5 cups of chicken broth(to ensure I have enough liquid in the pressure cooker). I serve the cilantro on the side, as some of my family don't like it, and skip the pepper. In October I modified it further for a chili cook-off. I added a 1.5 cups of soaked white beans (and some salt, though I can't say how much), thickened the broth with cornstarch at the end, and added some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Definitely needed more than 8 hours on low on my slow cooker. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was terrific. I did, however, add some ingredients that we like for a fuller flavor. I added cumin, hot chili powder and a little garlic. The result was fabulous. The family was groaning as they ate it served on flour tortillas. The second round of the leftovers was made into enchiladas with white queso and pepper jack cheese sprinkled on top. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This came out GREAT! Made my own refried beans and added this to the green chile pork. Made burritos with cheese with this and froze them for the kids/husband to grab as a quick lunch. I made sure to cook out all the juices before using in burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
A family favorite! My kids beg for it and are always super excited for green chile pork night. We use 2 serranos and 2 jalapenos to give it more kick and we slice them in half (leaving the seeds) before putting in the crockpot to make sure that flavor comes out in the sauce. We shred the meat and make tacos with a little cheese and some of that wonderful sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe several times. It is AMAZING!!! Love how simple it is to make, too. I serve it with tortillas, black beans, and a little plain Greek yogurt. Thanks for sharing your awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe. The changes I made were adding chopped garlic and ground chipotle chili pepper it adds a nice smoky flavor. Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
DELISH! I put in even more spicy peppers as we like it hot. We eat it with taco sides in a soft yellow taco tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplyjmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Love this recipe. I made it twice for company and every enjoyed it. It's so easy to put in the slow cooker and have ready when guests arrive. The first time I made it as written, but it wasn't spicy enough. The second time I added jalepenos and sliced half of the peppers so the flavor would absorb into the meat better. I served the cooked betters on the side for those who like extra spice. I also didn't like the fattiness of the shoulder the first time, so I made it with tenderloin the second time. Great as filling for tacos or burrito bowls. The leftovers freeze well, so I doubled the recipe (using tenderloin) and had leftovers for several future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States