Andouille and Chicken Creole Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Loved it!! I love creole & cajun food, but am not too fond of rice, this was great because the sauce was the right consistency for pasta (which isn't always the case if you swap pasta for rice). I read all the comments regarding the spiciness and the amount of creole seasoning & saltiness. I think it has a lot to do the the brand of seasoning you use, as well as your family's tastes. I keep 2 or 3 different kinds in the spice rack, they vary greatly in heat, and I know how much of each one my family can tolerate & how salty they are. I would never put 3T in of a seasoning blend I wasn't familiar with. As it was I used 1T of my hot one to give it heat (we like heat), and 2T of a mild one, to give it a depth of creole flavor besides hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Very good recipe! I didn't have creole seasoning so I made up a batch of "Creole Seasoning Blend" - a recipe from this site and only used 1 TBLS of it. Although I thought it was pretty mild - had it been any spicier, my family wouldn't have been able to eat as much as they did. Also, I reduced the garlic powder/lemon pepper seasoning by half (again, to keep it kid friendly) and used regular chicken broth. If you like "spicy" foods, I'd use 2 TBLS of seasoning and if you like it "hot" I'd use all three. Since it was now only mildly spiced, my family gave this dish 2 thumbs up! Thanks Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This has become a signiture dish for me. I use 1 chix breast, 1/2 pound cooked P/d shrimp and the andouille. I like spicy but also like flavor, I use Zatarain's Creole seasoning and have gotten by with 1 tbsp. I have used Tony Chachere's and gotten by with 1 1/2 tbsp. I use half cup whipping cream and half cup 1% milk for a little creamier sauce. 12oz mushrooms and add yellow pepper as well. I like it best with linguine, but fettuccine works well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Would not make this again. No one cared for this and ended up throwing it away. Too much preparation and time involved to yield such an unappealing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
GREAT!!!! Very Spicy like it says, I wouldn't reccomend adding the cayenne because that would make it overly spicy, but a really great dish. Everyone loved it! Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We really liked this!!! The Man is a huge gumbo fan, and said it 'smelled' like N'Awlins. Like another reviewer, I didn't have creole seasoning so made up a batch of my own from another recipe from this site. We also like spicy, so we added a few fresh chiles. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I reduced the quantity to serve 2 people and at first used 1 1/2 tsp of creole seasoning. Well I figured I could add the remaining tsp of seasoning to give some more flavour, and WOW!!! This dish brought some heat, I followed the recipe w/ the exception I didn't add the green onions (due to allergy reasons). I opted to use baby bella mushrooms, and for the creole seasoning I used the bayou blast that Emeril makes. Had no trouble w/ the sauce thickening up. This was a pretty tasty dish...and wow did I mention it brought some heat?! Will post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
We loved this spicy pasta dish! We even added the cayenne pepper. (We're from South Louisiana.) I would highly recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
The flavor combo is excellent however I did not read the reviews beforehand and I agree with many in that it is entirely too salty and I like salt. I'm not sure if it was the creole season I used (Tony's) or the fact that I didn't use low sodium broth? This was my first time to try Andouille and I loved the flavor. I sliced instead of diced it but this would have not altered the flavor of the dish. I will definitely make this again and just cut back on the creole season and use low sodium broth. One other note is that I grilled my sausage first and then just added it in the end but only because I like my sausage really brown/black :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I am totally diggin' the sauce! I used chicken andouille and peas instead of a green pepper. I also added 1/2 a jalapeno, diced. After tasting the chicken at step 2, I decided I needed more spice, so I added more cajun & lemon pepper seasonings and garlic powder. Thank you for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States