Andouille Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Recipe is solids. I added the proper amount of cure and then smoked the sausages. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! I tried it with ground chicken and my family can't get enough. I only added a few ingredients for my twist. I added chopped green onions and finely diced jalapeño. I also dropped the cayenne pepper because of the jalapeño but added a quality Cajun seasoning. Unbelievablely great! We just make patties and cook them. I will be using a sausage stuffer and smoking this real soon to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is not a bad sausage, but it is not Andouille Sausage. There is no cumin or file in it. IC that there is liquid smoke. But for the real thing, you need to actually smoke the sausage in a smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I had my butcher make a batch of this sausage for us and it is outstanding. Have made several recipes of Jamalaya and gumbo with it so far. Just ordered another batch today... not yet ready to try making my own sausage. The butcher cut down on the fat in the recipe and it still was plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this a couple weeks ago & although time intensive w/boning,chopping,grinding the meat, it was delicious. I didn't use liquid smoke and cut back the cayenne a little.I rolled it into links and we smoked them on the grill on cedar planks. Before tasting, I swore I would never make sausage again. But I definitely will. Freezes very well. I used it in shrimp gumbo and chopped fine in andouille (Charleston style)grits. Everyone at the gathering raved about both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I don't really buy sausage links and detest natural casings so I used this recipe(with ground turkey) for my jambalaya. I would have liked a little more spice and I forgot the liquid smoke but the flavor was good regardless. I shaped the meat into little logs and baked it so that I could still slice chunks for the dish. I also used it in AR's tuscan soup recipe. I will be trying this with ground pork when I can find it. Thanks, Edward
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sliders are popular these days so this recipe is an excellent alternative to beef sliders-better tasting and much cheaper. I omit the pork fat and casing. I use gloves and squeeze the mixture thoroughly to combine the spices. I form small slider size patties topped with cheese and onions. I've also used this sausage in soups. This recipe is very versatile, you can make the sausage as hot as you like. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. I will be making these Sausage Sliders for the Superbowl representing Louisiana along with Breaded Pork Tenderloin Sliders to represent Indiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is not smoked?!?!? I thought Audouille was a smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Fabulous taste...I have a tip for the casings...rinse well and soak them overnight in cold water with 2 cut up oranges (lemons are too acidic and will creates holes in casings)in refigerator. Next day drain and rinse well. My Italian family has been doing this for many, many years making soppressata. It removes that icky intestine odor and makes they whiter also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was heavenly. Like the others, I omitted the casings and made patties. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States