Anchovy Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was absolutly amazing. Everyone needs to try this delicious recipe. I did doctor it up some by adding chopped green onions, extra garlic, chopped celery, and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper. When the dish was done I threw the pasta right into the anchovy skillet along with a chopped tomato, two more chopped green onion, and a handful of chopped parsley--WOW!!! I'm sure without the additions it's still good, but I recommend adding your own personal touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I'm am anchovy fan and this is THE way to do anchovies. I'm not a fan of linguini, though, so I normally make this with spaghetti. A few tips: I don't add any water. I use more olive oil, though. You don't really need to simmer anchovies, just heat them through. Don't let them fall apart completely, you want some fillet pieces in there. This recipe relies on quality ingredients, so get the GOOD anchovies and oil. ALWAYS Use fresh parsley. I add it when I toss the pasta with the sauce, I don't cook it. I also add a lot of fresh black pepper. There's also no need for parmesan, it would just make this too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a christmas eve dish in our familty. It is a part of the feast of seven fishes. We let the oil cook for hours with the anchovies and garlic in it. It gives it great flavor. When we do the anchovies they are chopped up very small and then they boil down in the oil so that those who are not fond of looking at the anchovies don't see them. Very good recipe..and the longer it simmers the better it is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
A nice, tasty dish that is easy to throw together with things already in your cupboard. I added four cloves of minced garlic as well as some mushrooms for some extra punch. Although this strays far from the original recipe, I steamed up some spinach and mushrooms and mixed it in as well to add some vitamins and minerals. Served with some garlic bread, this was delicious! If you don't have canned anchovies on hand, you can substitute anchovy paste (1/2 teaspoon per anchovy fillet) -- I used two tablespoonsful and it turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great recipe for a fast and satisfying meal. I used chicken broth instead of water which provided an extra layer of flavour. Yum. Would make it again for a quick and hearty week night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
So good! When I make this, I double the garlic (7 or 8 cloves) and just use one can of anchovies. I also add red pepper flakes. Its an awesome dish, but pretty rich. I usually serve it with a salad or as a side dish to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This did not taste like I expected it to. I thought it would be salty but it wasn't. My husband and daughter loved it. I added tomatoes, mushrooms, green pepper, and garlic powder. This was so easy to make but next time I will use can clams instead of anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very good recipe! If you enjoy traditional, authentic Italian cuisine, you will enjoy this recipe. The only modification I made to the recipe is as follows: - I substituted 3 (2.0 oz.) cans of Anchovy Filets for 1 (2.0 oz.) can Anchovy Filets, chopped. The reason for the substitution: My husband is Italian and the recipe matches the same method utilized by his Mother (from Italy), with the exception of the quantity of anchovies. In her preperation, she uses one can of anchovy filets in olive oil and it has always produced a mild fish flavor as opposed to the overpowering anchovy flavor, by using three. Top with freshly grated Italian cheese (of your choice) and enjoy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XTAPOLAPOCET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My fiance and I estimated that you would likely pay $16-20 for a plate like this in a restaurant in town!! And it was soooooo easy! Really delicious with some chopped tomatoes and brocoli in it and feta cheese on top. Thanks for the truly amazing recipe! Next time, I think I'll add shrimp or mussels to it and make a $25 recipe, or more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I made this for the first time last night. I added 2 extra cloves of sliced garlic, and a hefty tablespoon of capers... It was fantastic! Fast, easy, and oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States