Ancho Honey Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wow! What a great sauce. It was easy to make and was absolutely wonderful. I didn't have any ancho chili powder so I used Chipolte Chili Powder. It carried a pretty big kick. Ancho might not be as spicy so I would probably cut back a little of the chili powder if i were to use chipolte again. I made to use with chicken tenders but decided to make into a spinach salad with tenders on the top and used the sauce as a dressing. Awww...it was so good. Used white corn and black beans as a side. WTG cheffjeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great taste. Looked everywhere for ground anco and couldn't find it (even in specialty markets) but substituted paprika and it worked. I have some whole dried anchos that I'll grind up for next time when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This tasted very sharp to me, so I had to thin it out with Ranch dressing, and then it was WONDERFUL as a sauce for sweet potato fries! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This a great sauce, versatile as a salad dressing or dipping sauce. I used as dressing for salad, and as a dip for mushrooms and bread. Straight up delicious. Truly a sweet-meets-heat item. The chipotle powder gives it a great smokiness and heat, balanced by the sweetness of the honey. It took three days to use up the sauce, and the heat definitely increased each day--which is great since I enjoy food with a kick. One of the best things about this is you can distinctly tell as a dressing this is fresh--the taste is absent the distinct flavor of preservatives and artificial components of commercially made dressings. Awesome. Super easy to make. 5 minutes tops, and you have a natural and low-calorie dressing with great flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
i replaced the honey with tai red chili paste because i wanted it a little spicy with the sweet, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I've never been a fan of honey mustard, but adding the chili powder was great. I served this with a baked chicken nugget recipe on this site too. Great match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I love sauces and dips that are flavorful and versatile! I used this sauce to accompany the Chicken Nut Puffs appetizer and it was delicious! This sauce also freezes well, so I just take it down the night before I need it and serve it with our appetizers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Great on ham! Added some dill for extra flavor and color. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trystan's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fraser Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I gave this 4 stars only because I had to alter it. I used only half the amount of chili powder and garlic powder and only had white vinegar. But my husband and I both agree that it is still very very yummy and so easy to make. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delicious! Sweet and a little spicy and a nice tang to liven it up even more. I love this sauce! I used it for dipping roasted cauliflower (which has a texture kind of like chicken nuggets) into, and it was excellent. I look forward to baking some chicken in this sauce in the next few days as well. It's a great sauce, and I never would have thought to put chile powder into my honey mustard otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States