Ancho Honey Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Great idea, but way too much ancho pepper for my taste, even for meats. Would use 3/4 as much for ham, etc. and perhaps 1/4-1/2 if for use as a salad dressing (which I tried full strength, and wow-ee!) Recommended making with less, tasting, then adjusting for your own preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is a very good sauce. What sets it apart from other honey-mustard sauces is the Ancho chili powder. Ancho chilies have a very low heat level, but have a very unique chili flavor. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I didn't have ancho chile so I used chili powder and little more than a pinch or two of smoked paprika. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delicious! Sweet and a little spicy and a nice tang to liven it up even more. I love this sauce! I used it for dipping roasted cauliflower (which has a texture kind of like chicken nuggets) into, and it was excellent. I look forward to baking some chicken in this sauce in the next few days as well. It's a great sauce, and I never would have thought to put chile powder into my honey mustard otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Made this to go along with some ham, but also had a salad on the same plate. I found myself mixing the salad in this sauce. I used an extra sprinkle of ancho to spice up a bit. Definitely recommend, very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I didn't have honey or rice wine vinegar in the house so replaced with maple syrup and red wine vinegar and it was still a tasty off-the-cuff dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This sauce is easy and quick to make. It has an attractive look when it is on the plate. It is delicious also, especially with pork. Any time, I tell my family we are having pork they always ask if there is the sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This a great sauce, versatile as a salad dressing or dipping sauce. I used as dressing for salad, and as a dip for mushrooms and bread. Straight up delicious. Truly a sweet-meets-heat item. The chipotle powder gives it a great smokiness and heat, balanced by the sweetness of the honey. It took three days to use up the sauce, and the heat definitely increased each day--which is great since I enjoy food with a kick. One of the best things about this is you can distinctly tell as a dressing this is fresh--the taste is absent the distinct flavor of preservatives and artificial components of commercially made dressings. Awesome. Super easy to make. 5 minutes tops, and you have a natural and low-calorie dressing with great flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Quick, easy & tastes great. Used this sauce on chicken nuggets & will use on ham also. Don't need to change a thing. We used to make a honey mustard sauce, but this has just a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States