Ancho-Chipotle Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Using the Chipotle in Adobo brings a rich smokiness that you will miss if you do not grab a can of them to use. Once small can has several of them in it. I also spoon another flat tablespoon of the Adobo Sauce from the can into the salsa. You do not need to cut the tomatoes if you use canned ones. Fresh plum tomatoes will need pare boiling and peeling. I split the jalapeno in half lengthwise, seeded, and the sliced it crosswise before tossing it in. I laos leave out the gringos cumin. You can also substitute lime juice for lemon juice. The first step should be to cut off a 1 inch piece of the Ancho and sliver it and then put it in a small sauce cup (I use those all the time to prep my spices) and add the juice and let it sit while you prep the rest and put it in the food processor or blender. Use a blender will yield a nicer chunkier style. Mine blender was still being washed when I made another batch. Use a blender on Pulse. Ancho Peppers are actually cheaper the Jalapenos unlike falsely stated. Even at a fancy store you can get a bag of a dozen for $4 which works out to a quarter each and the Jalapeno cost me $0.79. If you use the Adobo sauce you will never miss the cumin. This is salsa not lentil soup or mole sauce. PS American Lentil soup is junk! Make it Mediterranean style with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
One of the best salsa recipes I've EVER tasted. Same day my husband and I made 3 other salsas (exhausting) and this is the only one we didn't have to make any changes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was okay but but there seems to be a specific flavor I'm trying to get for a chipotle salsa and can't figure it out. So, that doesn't mean this isn't good, it's just not "it". I could not find whole anchos anywhere, so used ancho powder instead. I left the seeds in the chipotle and used fresh roma tomatoes instead of canned. It was missing something for me and not quite the flavor I'm trying to get to. A little to much garlic flavor for me. The heat builds but I would call it med to med-hot salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Perfection. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used to live in Mexico and this recipe is very similar to what my Mexican mom would make. I couldn't find ancho chiles at the local market so I substituted 1/4 tsp. of dried ancho spice. Word of advice - I only had tomatoes with green chilis. I DO NOT recommend using these as it made the salsa way too spicy for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very, very good salsa. This is authentic Mexican salsa, not the jarred stuff with chunks of tomato in it. Very versatile as well, increase the peppers to increase the heat. Great with chips or as a sauce with dinner! I can't believe a review said this was not as good as jarred salsa.... what!?!? And salsa (or any other authentic Mexican dish) does not use chili powder... that's strictly an American creation. Give this salsa a try... quite a bit like what you would get in a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I found this rather flat and tasteless. I had to keep adding salt and sugar to try to balance it out. I still didn't have much luck with it. It's not bad, just not great. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I tend to stick with Salsa verde, but this was a good change of pace. I used a bit more adobe sauce to kick it up a notch. Family loves it, so it passes the test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Very versatile. You can make it hotter or not so hot. Didn't have ancho chilis so used more jalapenos. So much cheaper and yummier than the jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was my first time ever trying to make salsa. I followed this recipe, and was very pleased; so was everyone else who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Blau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States