Anaheim Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I loved this recipe. It was very tasty and impressed my guests. I followed the other reviewers advice and drained the fish mixture and reserved some of the liquid to mix with sour cream. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
WONDERFUL RECIPE! Not too soup like others suggested, it was just right! I used onions instead of leeks so this may have made a difference. Great recipe and will certainly try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
these were great, they have quiet a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I subbed tilapia for halibut, vidalia onion for the leek, and flour tortillas for corn. It was tasty served with avocado slices, chopped cilantro and sour cream. I reduced the liquid and added sour cream to make a sauce as another member suggested, but I don't think it was worth the trouble. Next time I'll leave out the broth and season the fish directly with salt, pepper, cumin, and lime juice and pan fry it in a tiny bit of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I did a little substitution on this. I used jalapeno instead of Anaheim chili pepper, white onion instead of a leek, cod instead of halibut, and added 1/2 tsp cilantro. These were a really tasty & healthy meal. My daughter and I enjoyed them for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
The extra juice is a blessing. I placed the mixture into a colander to drain it, over a pan. Then, I took the juices and simmered them down over medium-heat, uncovered. A few small dollops of sour cream, heating it through, and then I had an absolutely luscious creamy sauce for the tacos. Why pour it down the drain? Sheesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
My husband and I loved this! I too, used a Pobolono (sp?) pepper-Anahiem wasn't available-and I used onion instead of a leek. Also, I didn't realize it until I was supposed to add it-I was out of cumin. I used a little bit of chili powder instead. Like other reviewers, I drained it before putting it in the tortillas. Oh, and we used flour tortillas because my husband doesn't like corn tortillas. Oh ya, and I also added canned diced tomatos (drained) just because I ran out of time. Even after all those changes it was SO good, and not too spicy at all! I served it with a little sour cream, cheese, and avocado. Healthy and fast-what a combination! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKIIEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
A kickin' great recipe! I had to use poblanos, the only fresh chili's in my area. It is a little soupy but that can be remedied by draining before serving. I would like to try this recipe with habaneros and some chili powder next time. Makes an ample amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
These are very tasty! Although I agree with a few people that it was soupy, all you need to do is drain the liquid before serving. I did omit the leak and used onions instead and I used jalapenos instead of anaheim chiles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Too soupy for tacos. The name should be changed to "Spicy Mexican Fish Soup" - I'd give 4 stars for that. I ended up serving the fish in bowls with corn tortilla quesadillas on the side. Pretty tasty anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States