Anaheim Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
not my style. tried the extra sour cream as another poster suggested, and it made it better buts still not good enough to make again. In the recipes defense, this is the first time I ever had a fish taco, thought I would try it out but it was a pretty big no in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemylila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
We liked it, kids included. Used a jalapeno and subbed a bunch of green onions for the leek and made with mahi mahi. Otherwise made as written- the worst part of the dish was the darn corn tortillas- they kept splitting- so the kids had to eat the innards with fork. Certainly not the submitters fault. IT WAS Tasty and flavorful. I let the veggie mixture reduce quite a bit before adding the fish- this way the mixture was perfectly thick and ready for the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this last night just like the recipe said but with tilapia instead and also used the idea to make sauce from the juices...delicious!!! We liked them so much I'm making them again tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
5 Stars= I'll make it again! My husband gave this 5 stars and my son said he liked it better than regular tacos. Very good for something so healthy. I did use tilapia instead of halibut, removed the fillets after they were done then reduced the broth mixture, seasoned it to taste with salt, pepper, cumin, oregano, tumeric and red pepper. After the reduction I added some sour cream as suggested....I thought the sauce really rounded the flavors out. Loved the touch of lime. Defiantly give this a try and don't be afraid to add your fav seasonings to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennard777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was sooo good. I used swordfish and fish stock. My husband is from California and has had many types of fish tacos. He said this was one of the best he's had. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made these tonight for dinner and was pretty disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly but ended up having to "doctor it up" last minute because it was so bland. I do have to say that the fish was cooked well but I found the tacos very difficult to eat because it broke right through the corn tortillas - we ate it with a fork. I liked the idea of this recipe but it just didn't work. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have never made fish tacos before, but i had some cod filets in the freezer that needed to be used. I didn't have leeks, so I used onion instead. The mixture was a little soupy, but a slotted spoon worked well with it. The flavor was perfect! Not too spicy and not too bland. We topped them with cilantro, lime juice, black beans, rice and shredded cheddar cheese. My family all raved about how yummy these were! I will make these again for sure, as I just know my family will ask for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I agree with the soup-y sauce comments, but a slotted spoon, a little sour cream in the mix, and it becomes an asset. The leftovers reheated properly made great tacos for lunch the next day, and served well over a bed of rice a few days later. Little one didn't think it was a hit, but he ate it well. We changed to a seafood blend in place of halibut, onion in place of leek. A great alternative to fried versions, healthier, and leaves room to let individual creativity come into play for the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I didn't have halibut, so I used frozen tilapia fillets that I had on hand. I also used canned, diced tomatoes instead of fresh. I was disappointed at how little flavor this dish had. It seems like a recipe that could be modified to give it more flavor, but I think I'll just look for a different recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Was a great taco, I would say to have some cabage ready for those die hard Latinos that want that with their fish taco. Also I had to double up on the fish because it will shrink, Im not real sure what use the Chicken broth has, the fish will produce so much water it isn't really needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States