Anaheim Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
The extra juice is a blessing. I placed the mixture into a colander to drain it, over a pan. Then, I took the juices and simmered them down over medium-heat, uncovered. A few small dollops of sour cream, heating it through, and then I had an absolutely luscious creamy sauce for the tacos. Why pour it down the drain? Sheesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I thought this was excellent. I used tilapia, onion instead of the leek, jalepeno peppers. I even used whole wheat tortillas, and it was so so good. This is healthy, fast and delish. I topped mine with a little cheese, advocados, and sour cream (light). Don't skimp on fresh lime juice, you can really taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I love this recipe. I'm always looking for new ways to cook halibut and this is versatile as substution with ingredients I have on had is easy. Use shallots or red onions instead of leeks. Use Poblano chilis instead of Anaheim. Use canned chopped tomatoes, drained, instead of fresh. Use store bought chucky salsa as a topping. Etcetera, etcetera. My friends love it with Pico de Gallo and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I subbed tilapia for halibut, vidalia onion for the leek, and flour tortillas for corn. It was tasty served with avocado slices, chopped cilantro and sour cream. I reduced the liquid and added sour cream to make a sauce as another member suggested, but I don't think it was worth the trouble. Next time I'll leave out the broth and season the fish directly with salt, pepper, cumin, and lime juice and pan fry it in a tiny bit of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
LOVE THESE!!! They were delicious, seriously one of my favorite recipes. I can't ever find Anaheim peppers, so I use one green chile pepper and one jalapeno pepper. Delicious! Also, I've used tilapia with this, which was still good, but halibut has the ultimate good texture/flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
We didn't think these were so great...very bland. About all I tasted in my taco were the toppings- avocado and cheese- the fish was tasteless. I thought from reading the recipe it would be alot spicier. I would recommend using a lot more spices, other than just cumin, and maybe a hotter pepper. I've never had an Anaheim pepper before this, but to me it was very similar to a bell pepper- I thought it would be more like a chile pepper or jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
So good! I used diced tomatoes a red onion and haddock. I took someones suggestion and added sour cream and mexican shredded cheese to make a sauce. Hard shell corn tacos topped with cilantro. This was not my normal kind of dish but really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
These were delicious. There was a lot of liquid but I drained the fish and cooked the leftover broth down and added sour cream and seasonings for a great sauce. I will definately add these to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Need to drain before serving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I thought this was DELICIOUS! It wasn't too spicy, though - my toddlers even liked them. I used red snapper b/c the halibut was too expensive, and it turned out great. I might add even more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States